*U.S. Government

An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.

Fully searchable runs of 215 newspapers from 27 states and the District of Columbia from 1741-1922. Highlights of Series 6 include the Detroit Plaindealer; The Colored American, Detroit's first successful black newspaper; and the Arkansas Gazette, one of the first papers west of the Mississippi. Highlights of Series 7 include New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily.

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

This U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) resources is a finding tool for federal government publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Six-part collection of newspaper articles and books published at or near time of the war, 1860-1865.

I: A Newspaper Perspective. II: The Soldiers' Perspective (regimental histories). III: The Generals' Perspective (memoirs). IV: The Midwestern Perspective (Indiana newspapers published between 1855 and 1869, including Vincennes Gazette and Vincennes Western Sun). V: Iowa's Perspective. VI: Northeast Regimental Histories

A vast, multidisciplinary repository of standardized statistical datasets from more than 550 sources with over 2 billion data points including US and international government providers. For business research, includes consumer data from Claritas, Data Axle, and EASI plus Woods and Poole demographic and economic data projections through 2060.

From the nongovernmental National Security Archive, DNSA consists of curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide access to the defining international issues of our time. Countries covered include Afghanistan; Argentina; Chile; China; Colombia; Cuba; East Germany; El Salvador; Guatemala; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Mexico; Nicaragua; North and South Korea; Peru; Philippines; South Africa; Soviet Union; and Vietnam. Other topics covered include climate change; diplomacy; foreign policy; terrorism; the United States military, national security, and the intelligence community; and United States nuclear policy.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.

Coverage: 1990 - current

Contains British diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, statistical analyses, published pamphlets, ephemera, military papers, profiles of prominent individuals, maps and many other types of documents sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. Full-text search is available across all documents.

Contains British diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, statistical analyses, published pamphlets, ephemera, military papers, profiles of prominent individuals, maps and many other types of documents sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. Full-text search is available across all documents

Search, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets.
Includes:
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations

Offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star, and the Lafayette Journal & Courier. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly to provide access to not only top news stories but also to information contained in the various sections of the papers.

Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), one of America's leading illustrated newspapers, is an important primary resource for examining nineteenth century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. All pages, including advertisements, have been scanned as facsimile images and are integrated with searchable full-text and thesaurus-based indexing.

A growing collection of several million scanned books, journals, and other digital resources, comparable to Google Books. Benefits include full-text and advanced bibliographic search capabilities, and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain (26% of the collection).

Government, Politics & Law on the HeinOnline platform is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. HeinOnline’s Government, Politics and Law also includes special topical collections on topics like Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, History of International Law, and Criminal Justice.

Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of books, book reviews and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.

Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present; Millennial Edition presents thousands of annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, and provide a guide to the sources. Enables searching, combining, and downloading of data using Excel or CSV spreadsheets.

Over 800,000 questions and answers from US public opinion polls. The polls originate from major news organizations (CNN, Fox News, etc.), public opinion research centers (Gallup, Harris, Pew, etc.), and major academic and commercial pollsters. Questions can be searched by keyword, topic, date, or source. Coverage 1935-present.

News about military and government topics. Featuring full-text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and and indexing and abstracts from nearly 400 titles.

Coverage 1975-present.

Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, this resource includes books, papers, and statistics providing access to OECD analysis and data. Includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Coverage 1998-present.

Bibliographic index with abstracts covering issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Coverage 1972-present.

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Collection of research from policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

Provides access to historic and recent U.S. Government publications from 1789-1969 on including U.S. Congressional Serial Set documents, federal agency reports, congressional committee publications including reports on legislation, statistics, maps, and congressional debates.
Coverage includes Congressional Record and predecessor publication debates from 1789-1997 and Executive branch agency publications not included in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1932.

Newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for select newspapers.

Full text of 1,300+ newspapers from the U.S., U.K., and around the world, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Times [London], El Pais [Madrid], Le Monde [Paris], The South China Morning Post [Hong Kong], and many others.

Coverage: Current, with backfiles from 1980s to 2010, depending on title

This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Provides access to statistical materials produced by international, U.S, state governments, and private resources.

PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.

Database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Provides indexing and full text articles from both the popular press and peer reviewed journals. Indexing from 1983 to the present, with full text coverage as far back as 1994 for some titles.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.

Sourced from the National Archives of the United States, this database provides historical documents of every American territory before it became an American state,

Searchable database of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Database allows users to to locate the full text of documents and filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics.

United Nations database of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.

Coverage of annual trade statistics from 1962-present and monthly data from 2010-present.

U.S. Census Bureau database containing Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. Provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level. Includes state and U.S. individual U.S. ports import and export data.

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. Thesaurus of over 3,000 terms used to index records also available.