Government information resources are essential for documenting world history, the histories of nations and global regions, groups of people, and multiple institutions. They can include documents produced by national executive leaders, military policymakers, legislative or parliamentary individuals, judges, civil servants, and average individuals. They also can document historical activity in states, provinces, local governments, and various geographic subdivisions. They can include statistics, maps, photographs, audio-visual resources, and various social media platforms.
Provides access to government information resources documenting multiple areas of 19th century U.S. History. This includes developments in agriculture, economics, foreign relations, legal affairs, military conflicts such as the Civil War and wars against American Indians, science and technology, territorial expansion, and many other areas.
Many works on constitutional law are government publications located in the HSSE Library. These works cover court opinions, political debates on constitutional issues, and documents on key constitutional developments from 1787-present. Most recent U.S. Government publications are accessible on the Libraries online catalog. The principal index for locating U.S. Government publications is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 UN36). An online version of this from 1994-present is also available.
The U.S. Government has produced and continues producing many publications on labor and women's history. Numerous government publications on these subjects can be found in Purdue's HSSE and Parrish Libraries as well as in the HIKS Repository.
Foreign national government agencies and legislative/parliamentary oversight committees dealing with historic and contemporary labor and women's policymaking matters.
International government organizations dealing with historic and contemporary labor and women's policymaking subjects.
U.S. Government publications and state government publications are excellent sources for studying the development of U.S. History from the 1600s to the present. Purdue Libraries have many government publications on the historical evolution of the northeastern U.S. For definitional purposes, this guide covers the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, & Wisconsin.
Includes state libraries, archives, historical society, and museum resources.
U.S. Government publications and state government publications are excellent sources for studying the development of U.S. History from the 1600s to the present. Purdue Libraries have many government publications on the historical evolution of the northeastern U.S. For definitional purposes, this guide covers the following states: West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine along with the District of Columbia. Many publications in this guide are U.S. Government publications. Paper copies of many of these publications are in the HSSE Library.
Includes state libraries, archives, historical society, and museum resources.
Government publications are important resources for the development of southern U.S. history before and after the Civil War. This guide focuses on U.S. Government resources on this region available within the Purdue Libraries and through selected Internet resources covering through the Civil War and beyond. States covered include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Most federal government publications from this period are in the HSSE Library or in Hick's Repository.
Includes state libraries, archives, historical society, and museum resources.
Government publications are excellent sources of information on Western U.S. History with Purdue Libraries having many publications on this subject. States covered in this section include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.
Includes state libraries, archives, historical society, and museum resources.