Research Guides: *U.S. Government: Statistical Agencies

Overview

The U.S. Government, unlike many foreign countries, does not have a single agency responsible for producing statistics. This is done by many federal agencies with some duplication of effort occurring. These statistics are compiled by government agencies because Congress requires such statistics to be compiled as part of its constitutional oversight & funding responsibilities. Some of these statistics may only be collected temporarily while others have been collected throughout U.S. History. This site features lists of multiple U.S. Government statistical agencies. Many of these agencies, such as the Census Bureau, date to the earliest years of the U.S., while other agencies, such as the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, are relatively recent creations.

Other Statistical Agencies (A-Z)

Administration for Children and Families
Collects statistics on children & families.
Administration for Community Living
Collects statistics on federal polices and programs affecting senior citizens.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Documents health care program performance, quality, and cost.
Agricultural Marketing Service
Administers programs creating domestic and international marketing opportunities for U.S. agricultural producers.
Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC)
Resource compiled by the Energy Deptartment's Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy covering alternative fuels and advanced transportation.
Architect of the Capitol
Publishes materials documenting its stewardship of the U.S. Capitol and grounds.
Bankruptcy Filing Statistics
Quarterly bankruptcy filing statistics in U.S. bankruptcy courts from 2007-present with breakdowns by individuals, businesses, U.S. bankruptcy legal provisions, and geography.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Commerce Department agency featuring statistics and analysis of U.S. economic conditions and trends including Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
Bureau of International Labor Affairs
An agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. Reports contain information about child labor in other countries and forced labor in global supply chains.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
U.S. Justice Department entity producing criminal justice statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
U.S. Department of Labor statistical arm preparing statistics on employment and unemployment, workforce trends, consumer expenditures and prices, and wholesale prices.
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
Collects statistics about oil and natural gas exploration on federal and American Indian lands.
Bureau of Prisons
Collects statistics on federal prisoners and prisons.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
U.S. Transportation Department entity producing statistics on transportation and transportation modes.

Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau serves as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Collects Medicare and Medicaid program statistics including annual Trustees reports projecting the future condition of these programs.
Commercial Space Data
Collected by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), this includes licensed launches for commercial payloads, human payloads, and a map of U.S. spaceports.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely information, analyses, and estimates related to federal economic and budgetary decisions.
Consumer Product Safety Commission
Collects data on consumer product hazards and potential hazards.
Council of Economic Advisors
White House entity advising the President on economic policy, preparing the annual Economic Report of the President, and disseminating other economic information.
Customs and Border Patrol Operational Data
Contains statistical information on encounters, seizures and enforcement statistics, trade and travel statistics, border rescues and mortality data, and other information resources from this agency.
Data.gov
Portal to U.S. Government datasets.
Defense Department Personnel, Workforce Reports & Publications
Collects military casualty and other statistical information.
Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DCSA)
Defense Department agency responsible for administering, documenting, and monitoring U.S. foreign military assistance programs.
Drug Approvals and Databases
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) resource containing information on FDA approved drugs.
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
Responsible for enforcing U.S. controlled substance laws and produces data on federal drug law enforcement.

Economic Research Service
Conducts high-quality and objective economic research anticipating trends in food, the environment, and rural America
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Energy Department statistical branch documenting energy sector economic activity.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
U.S. Dept. of Transportation agency responsible for regulating the civilian U.S. aviation sector.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
Independent agency responsible for regulating broadcast, telephonic, wire, and satellite communications domestically and internationally.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Agency of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) responsible for coordinating the response to a disaster that has occurred in the United States and that overwhelms the resources of local and state authorities.
Federal Highway Administration
Transportation Department agency responsible for increasing safety and efficiency of road infrastructure.
Federal Housing Finance Agency
Established by the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA) and is responsible for the effective supervision, regulation, and housing mission oversight of Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac (the Enterprises) and the Federal Home Loan Bank System, which includes the 11 Federal Home Loan Banks (FHLBanks) and the Office of Finance. Since 2008, FHFA has also served as conservator of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.
Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics
Contains analysis, charts, and tables presenting data on the workload of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts, and bankruptcy courts and of the federal probation and pretrial services system. Covers 12-month period ending March 31.
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
The primary mission of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is to reduce crashes, injuries and fatalities involving large trucks and buses.
Federal Maritime Commission
Independent federal agency responsible for regulating the U.S. international ocean transportation system for the benefit of U.S. exporters, importers, and the U.S. consumer.
Federal Reserve Board
Provides access to current U.S. economic information and information including statistic on banking, consumer protections, fiscal and monetary policy, interest rates, and reports on regional economic conditions produced by regional branches of the Federal Reserve system.
Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)
The Federal Railroad Administration’s mission is to enable the safe, reliable, and efficient movement of people and goods for a strong America, now and in the future.
Federal Transit Administration
Transportation Department agency responsible for supporting locally owned and operated public mass transit systems.
Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FINCEN)
Treasury Dept. office striving to safeguard the financial system from illicit use, combat money laundering and its related crimes including terrorism, and promote national security through the strategic use of financial authorities and the collection, analysis, and dissemination of financial intelligence
Food & Nutrition Center
USDA entity collecting data on food stamp and child nutrition programs.
Foreign Agricultural Service
Agricultural Dept. division analyzing agricultural trends and developments in other countries and seeking to promote U.S. agricultural exports.

Geoplatform.gov
Responsible for making federal geospatial data findable, accessible, interoperable, and reusable.
Geospatial Data
U.S. Geological Survey statistics on geospatial subjects with particular emphasis on critical minerals.
Government Publishing Office Annual Reports
Document this agency's printing and publishing activities since 1859.

Indoor Air Quality
EPA office addressing this subject and compiling relevant data.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The Internal Revenue Service is the revenue service for the United States federal government, which is responsible for collecting taxes and administering the Internal Revenue Code, the main body of the federal statutory tax law.
Interagency Council on Homelessness

Legal Services Corporation
Provides legal assistance to low income individuals & statistical information on its activities.
Librarian of Congress Annual Report
Documents this institution's activities from Fiscal Years 2000-present

Maritime Administration (MARAD)
Responsible for America's waterborne transportation system.
Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission
Non-partisan legislative branch agency providing policy and data analysis and making recommendations to Congress, the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and states on a wide array of issues affecting Medicaid and the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). .
Mine Safety & Health Administration (MSHA)
Works to prevent death, illness, and injury from mining and promote safe and healthful workplaces for U.S. miners.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers, etc.
National Cancer Institute
Documents cancer research and statistics.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
U.S. Department of Education statistical portal.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics. Our products and services inform the public and guide program and policy decisions to improve our nation’s health.
National Climatic Data Center
Collects recent and historical climate data.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Collects statistics on motor vehicle and highway safety and fatalities.
National Institute of Mental Health
Documents mental health trends and developments.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Documents these medical conditions and related research.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Lead federal agency supporting research on drug abuse & its consequences.
National Marine Fisheries Statistics
Collects oceanic fishery statistics.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Economic Data
Collects statistics on climate, commerce, ecosystems, water, weather, and transportation.
National Park Service Visitor Use Statistics
Collects National Park Service statistics such as visitors and facility use.
National Protection & Programs Directorate
Department of Homeland Security agency collecting statistics on critical infrastructure protection.
National Science Foundation Science Resources Statistics
Federal scientific program data.

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration is a large regulatory agency of the United States Department of Labor that originally had federal visitorial powers to inspect and examine workplaces.
Office of Homeland Security Statistics
Homeland Security Department entity collecting and evaluating immigration statistics.
Office of Immigration & Regulatory Affairs (OIRA)
Office responsible for determining federal agencies statistical compilation policies and data collection activities.
Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
Federal agency charged with preparing the federal budget and directing U.S. information collection and statistical policy.
Office of National Drug Control Policy
White House office responsible for leading & coordinating national drug policy and implementing the National Drug Control Strategy.
Office of People Analytics (OPA)
Defense Dept. entity established in 2016 to o glean deeper insights and assess the efficacy of current and future DoD policies, we draw upon our interdisciplinary expertise to analyze broader patterns via three key capabilities: assessing the service member life cycle, utilizing cutting edge analytic methods, and providing data-driven recommendations, tools, and solutions.
Pipeline & Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Develops and enforces regulations for the safe, reliable, and environmentally sound operation of the nation's 2.6 million mile pipeline transportation system and the nearly 1 million daily shipments of hazardous materials by land, sea, and air.

Railroad Retirement Board (RRB)
Independent agency responsible for administering comprehensive retirement-survivor and unemployment-sickness benefit programs for the nation’s railroad workers and their families, under the Railroad Retirement and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Acts.
Reginfo.gov
Office of Management & Budget information resource providing statistical and other information on federal agency regulations.
Risk Management Agency
Provides agricultural producers with market-based risk management tools to strengthen rural communities economic stability. Manages the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation.

Small Business Administration (SBA)
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is a cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.
Social Security Administration Research, Statistics, & Policy Analysis
Access recently released bulletins from the SSA, quick stats, and popular publications.
Statistics of Income
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) compilation of personal and business tax receipts.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Department of Health & Human Services agency responsible for improving the lives of individuals with mental health & substance abuse disorders.

U.S. Agency for International Development
Agency responsible for administering U.S. foreign economic and social assistance programs.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Delivers vital engineering solutions, in collaboration with our partners, to secure our Nation, energize our economy, and reduce disaster risk. Key areas of emphasis include civil engineering and water transportation.
U.S. Fire Administration
U.S.. Dept. of Homeland Security agency supporting and strengthening fire and emergency medical services (EMS) and stakeholders to prepare for, prevent, mitigate and respond to all hazards.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
A science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
U.S. International Trade Commission
Independent agency studying the effects of selected imports on U.S. industries and listing U.S. tariff rates.
USAFacts
Nonprofit and nonpartisan resource covering trends in government spending and resources.
USA Spending
Portal of U.S. Government spending with various geographic and subject breakdowns.

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor entity responsible for enforcing federal minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and child labor requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act.
Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers entity responsible for capturing information on vessels, tonnage, commodity, origin, and destination from vessel operating companies. This data and information is intended to assist USACE’s navigation mission by providing statistics used to analyze the feasibility of new projects, and to set priorities for new investments and for the operation, rehabilitation, and maintenance of existing projects.
Weather.gov
National Weather Service. Documents emerging, current, and historical weather information.
Weights & Measures Division
Located with the Commerce Dept's National Institute on Standards & Technology (NIST), this entity strives to promote uniformity in national and international legal metrology laws, regulations, standards, test procedures, and enforcement practices to ensure measurement traceability to the International System of Units (SI) and to facilitate consumer protection, marketplace equity, and economic growth and trade.
Women's Bureau
Develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments.

No resources have been added yet.