World Languages & Cultures

Comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.

Includes primary source documents such as personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera that deal with the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent, focusing on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France,

A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.

Includes British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. Includes letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies, and first-hand accounts of events about the the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime.

The ARTFL database is a corpus of nearly 150,000,000 words and almost 2000 texts with an emphasis in the 17th to 20th centuries. Complete novels and collections of poetry are included, but also works in philosophy, mathematics, and biology.

The most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings and chapters in edited volumes with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.

Coverage: 1971 – current.

Fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies combines three resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience contains the full-text of commissioned essays detailing the Black Experience and other related materials. The IIBP covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for 58 titles. Black Studies also features the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).

Non-fiction works (books, essays, articles, speeches, interviews and letters) by African-American leaders and others who have dealt with issues of race from colonial times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.

Cairn.info (French Studies Bouquet) This collection of 127 French and Belgian journals covers the arts, history, literature, linguistics, philosophy, political science, sociology and culture. Coverage: Varies; 2001 – current.

Oral and visual history of the culture, society, and identity of the Caribbean people, by the Caribbean people, with recordings of music, dance, interviews, and cultural programming housed in the Banyan Archives in Trinidad & Tobago.

A reference guide to style, usage, and grammar for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in an accessible online format.

Includes rare documents from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia covering the period 1750-1929, including addresses and speeches, annual reports, assessments, catalogues, essays, examinations, guides and manuals, inquiries and studies, journals, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, minutes of meetings, notes, and records.

Access to records which can be used to explore the history of Jewish communities in the United States, from the arrival of the first Jews in New Amsterdam in the seventeenth century right through to the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from archival collections held by the American Jewish Historical Society in New York City.

A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Multilingual Health Databases is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Available languages include: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, Russian and Tagalog.

NOTE: To access the Multilingual Health Databases, click the Multilingual Health Databases link above, scroll down to World Languages and the select the "Consumer Health Information" link with the preferred language.

Content from a variety of sources, including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.

An in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. The Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.

French language business journals. A tool for both academic and professional researchers, Vente et Gestion provides full-text access to a wide variety of content relevant to business and related subjects, sourced from top French language journals on business and industry.