Research Guides: *U.S. Government: Executive

About the Executive Branch

U.S. Executive Branch agencies, under Article 2 of the United States Constitution, describe the roles and powers of the President of the United States. This branch also includes agencies such as the Department of Agriculture responsible for carrying out government policies approved and funded by Congress and other organizations within these departments. Leaders of these departments are nominated by the President and must be confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

Key Resources

The Executive Branch
From the President, to the Vice President, to the Cabinet, learn more about the Executive Branch of the government of the United States.

Additional Resources (A-Z)

Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Commerce Department agency featuring statistics and analysis of U.S. economic conditions and trends including Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
Bureau of Justice Statistics
U.S. Justice Department entity producing criminal justice statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
U.S. Department of Labor statistical arm preparing statistics on employment and unemployment, workforce trends, consumer expenditures and prices, and wholesale prices.
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
The Bureau of Land Management is an agency within the United States Department of the Interior responsible for administering federal lands.
Bureau of Reclamation
Interior Department agency managing dams, water plants, and canals in western U.S. states.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
U.S. Transportation Department entity producing statistics on transportation and transportation modes.

Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau serves as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
Analyzes and documents U.S. and international health trends and developments including those focusing on individual diseases.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Administers these federal entitlement programs and provides statistics on their cost.
Defense Department Combating Trafficking in Persons Office
Defense Department office responsible for coordinating efforts to prevent human trafficking, prosecute traffickers, and assist in protecting human trafficking victims.
Department of Homeland Security
The United States Department of Homeland Security is the U.S. federal executive department responsible for public security, roughly comparable to the interior or home ministries of other countries.
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
Responsible for enforcing U.S. controlled substance laws and produces data on federal drug law enforcement.
U.S. Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education is the agency of the federal government that establishes policy for, administers, and coordinates most federal assistance to education.
U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
U.S. Department of Labor
Responsible for the administration of federal laws governing occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards, unemployment benefits, reemployment services, and occasionally, economic statistics.
U.S. Department of the Treasury
The U.S. Department of the Treasury's mission is to maintain a strong economy and create economic and job opportunities by promoting the conditions that enable economic growth and stability at home and abroad, strengthen national security by combating threats and protecting the integrity of the financial system, and manage the U.S. Government’s finances and resources effectively.

Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Energy Department statistical branch documenting energy sector economic activity.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The Environmental Protection Agency is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters.
Export Solutions
Trade professionals at the U.S. Commercial Service, part of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration, developed these Export Solutions to help U.S. exporters create successful international sales strategies.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
The Federal Bureau of Investigation is the domestic intelligence and security service of the United States and its principal federal law enforcement agency.
Federal Highway Administration
Transportation Department agency responsible for increasing safety and efficiency of road infrastructure.
Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

No resources have been added to this section.

General Services Administration
Manages federal government property.

International Trade Administration
Commerce Department entity promoting U.S. foreign trade and ensuring fair conditions for U.S. exporters. Provides detailed analytical and statistical research.

No resources have been added to this section.

National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGIA)
Delivers world-class geospatial intelligence that provides a decisive advantage to policymakers, military service members, intelligence professionals and first responders.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Collects statistics on motor vehicle and highway safety and fatalities.
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)
The National Institute of Standards and Technology promotes U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Principal federal health research institute includes centers focusing on cancer, drug & alcohol abuse, infectious diseases, mental health, and other conditions,
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is world’s largest biomedical library. The NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings, and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product.
National Security Council (NSC)
President's principal forum for considering foreign and national security policy issues.
National Security Council (NSC)
President's principal forum for considering foreign and national security policy issues.
National Weather Service (NWS)
The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, water and climate data, forecasts, warnings, and impact-based decision support services for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration is a large regulatory agency of the United States Department of Labor that originally had federal visitorial powers to inspect and examine workplaces.
Office of Government Ethics (OGE)
Leads and oversees the executive branch ethics program which is at work every day in more than 130 agencies. The executive branch ethics program works to prevent financial conflicts of interest to help ensure government decisions are made free from personal financial bias.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Homeland Security Department entity collecting and evaluating immigration statistics.
Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
Federal agency charged with preparing the federal budget and directing U.S. information collection and statistical policy.

Regulations.gov
Comment on proposed federal agency regulations under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Department of Health & Human Services agency responsible for improving the lives of individuals with mental health & substance abuse disorders.
Transportation Security Administration
Agency responsible for protecting U.S. transportation systems. Part of the Department of Homeland Security.

USAFacts
Nonprofit and nonpartisan resource covering trends in government spending and resources.
USA Spending
Portal of U.S. Government spending with various geographic and subject breakdowns.

The White House
Official website of The White House.

No resources have been added to this section.