Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Education: Tutorials for Searching Education Topics

This is a guide for doing research in education.

Two Minute Tutorial Guide

Tricks of the Trade: Key word searching

Would you like to know 4 quick tricks that work in most databases for key word searching? Find out how by viewing and listening to this 10 minute tutorial, which covers:

  1. phrase searching
  2. truncation (word stem searching)
  3. Boolean logic (combining key words with AND and OR)
  4. Nesting (grouping ideas)

Education Subject Guide

Wondering where to find education related resources?

The Purdue Libraries has over 600 databases and the HSSE Library subscribes to nearly 1,000 journals and has over 600,000 books.  How do you sort through all of this to find the information you need? 

This subject guide does just that.  It organizes databases, webpages and other resources; click on the tab for the type of resource you need, then choose from a brief list. 

CLICK the links below to start the Tutorial or to see the Education Subject Guide.

Libraries' WebPage with new interface

The Libraries Home Page is your link to all the resources the Libraries purchase:  databases, books, e-books, e-journals, etc.; along with Libraries' services such as Interlibrary Loan, Ask a Librarian, etc.

This Two Minute Tip demonstrates searching using the Libraries Web page and search engine.  The goal of the “Search All” link is to be a quick, one-stop search of all the libraries holdings.  Click on this link for a 3 1/2 minute overview…

Judy's Video Tutorial on Endnote Basic

Setting up EndNote to search ERIC from EBSCO

Would you like to be able to search the ERIC database using the search function inside of EndNote?   This short tutorial (2 1/2 minutes) shows you how to set this up.

Video on Using CAPTURE

Tutorials on Literature Reviews: How to find and do them.

Do you need to find review articles or do a lit review? 

This tutorial explains the difference between review articles and research articles and gives a quick example on how to find literature reviews using PsycINFO.

 Need  more help?  Click on the Adelphi University link to see a much longer and more detailed tutorial. 

Tutorial for Associations Unlimited database

Use this database to identify associations or organizations by topic.  See their address, URL, membership size, list of publications, awards given, time of meetings, etc.

Dissertations

Are you looking for an electronic version of a COE dissertation?

This TWO MINUTE TIP shows how to use Dissertations & Theses database to find Purdue's full text dissertations.

The Purdue Libraries also archives these dissertations at Purdue e-pubs (see link below).  You can search e-pubs by year and author's name. 

Education Source Tutorials

Education Source is a subscription database which indexes more journals than ERIC or Education Full Text databases.  It is an enlargement of Education Full Text, so searching both databases normally would not increase the number of articles found.  

Education Source:

  • indexes about 2,850 journals
  • has full text from 1,800 journals (adding 366 currently published journals to Purdue's collection)
  • indexes 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers,

ERIC from EBSCO tutorial

Short, four minute demonstration of an ERIC database search. 

Tutorial Using ERIC

Video on How To Set Up EBSCO Folders

Google Scholar Links to full text

Would you like to link directly to the full text articles using Google Scholar?  There are two ways of doing this:

  1. Set up "Library Links" inside of Google Scholar; a one time change in your settings.  Find out how by clicking on the video link below.  Or look at boxes on left side of this screen. 
  2. Click on the link called "Google Scholar Link for Off Campus Users"  and add this url to your favorites.  Use this everytime you go to Google Scholar. 

Journal Citation Reports and "Impact Factor"