Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Education: Citation Searching

This is a guide for doing research in education.

Overview

What is citation searching?

  • Basic citation searching involves tracking references that have cited, or listed in its bibliography, an article, book, or book chapter.
  • This guide will help you find WHO HAS CITED a given article, book, book chapter, or other publication or author - also known as cited reference searching.

Why do it?

  1. To locate newer material related to a given publication or author.
  2. To see who is citing one (or all) of your publication.  To show the impact of your work by seeing who is citing you.
  3. To find other researchers in a field.

Where to do citation searching?

Many databases have a "cited by" link.  See column at right for more info and hot links.

Top ones for Education field are:

  1. Web of Science
  2. Google Scholar
  3. Academic Search Premier
  4. PsycInfo
  5. JSTOR

Metrics Toolkit

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly articles, books, and some institutional respositories, and more. 

"Cited by" information is available from the search result screen:

google scholar

Harzing's Publish Or Perish

This is a free downloadable tool that uses Google Scholar data to create citation analysis reports by author or journal name. Citation counts for specific articles are given, as well as h-index for the author or journal.

Citation Analysis -- Full Info

Look in the windows below for brief, but practical, information on Citation Searching.

Click on the link below to see a Library Guide on Citation Analysis which includes Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar.

Web of Science

Web of Science is the most well-know databases for citation searching. 

Use the CITED REFERENCE SEARCH for the most complete results:

 

"Times Cited" information is available directly from the search result screen:

Tutorials for Citation Research from vendors

Click here to view a tutorial that takes you through the process of doing citation research in Web of Science. 

Click here to view a list of CSA databases that have cited references, including screen shots of how to find them. Examples include BioONE, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, among others.
Click here for a step-by-step tutorial on cited reference searching in EBSCO databases. Databases with citation searcing include CINAHL, Historical Abstracts, and PsycINFO, among others.

Click here for directions on using the Citation Map in HighWire, which displays a graphical representation of the articles citing or cited by your selected article.
Click here to view a tutorial on how to manipulate your search results in ScienceDirect, including a "Cited by" feature for citation searching.

Click here to view a tutorial on citation searching in Scopus.
Click here to view a brief description of the "Cited by" function in PubMed. 

While there is no tutorial for citation searching in Google Scholar, you can use the "Cited by" link at the bottom left of each entry in the results page to see who has cited an item of interest to you. 

Click here for screen shots of cited reference searching from the University of Buffalo Libraries. Screen shots include Web of Science, Google Scholar, Science Direct, CINAHL, Academic Search Premier, Medline in OVID, MathSciNet, SciFinder Scholar, ACM Digital Libraries, and IEEE Explore.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Wei Zakharov
She/her/hers
Contact:
3053P WALC
765-464-2872
Contact: Twitter Page

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier includes journals in all disciplines from 1984-present.  Articles that have been cited by someone else have the notation "Times Cited in this Database: (# of times cited)." You can use the "Cited Reference" search linked in the tool bar:

ASP

PsychINFO

PsycINFO is the premier database for searching scholarly literature in psychology. 

Cited references are noted directly under the citations:

PsycINFO

JStor

JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of hundreds of journals from the 1800's up to 3-5 years ago;  current article are always blocked from JSTOR.

Click "Item Information" under the citation to find items citing the article.

JSTOR