Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Education: ERIC Documents and Database

This is a guide for doing research in education.

Some ERIC Documents (ED numbers) not available in full text

WHAT: 

The article I want says "PDF Restoration Pending". What does that mean?

This document was originally scanned from microfiche. Much of the text was lost in the digitization process and the resulting copy is barely legible.  In the meantime, the document can still be found on microfiche and obtained through interlibrary loan.

 

How To Submit to ERIC

Eric (from US Gov) Tutorial

For Purdue students and faculty  ERIC from EBSCO is  the preferred version as it:
  • has links to our subscription full text articles and
  • allows simultaneous searhing in mutliple databases.  
However, if you are not at Purdue, try the US Government version of ERIC.   Watch ERIC's latest video on best search practices using the updated search engine  at

Try Google Scholar for ERIC documents

If the ERIC document you need is not available, try Google Scholar (see link below)

When you find the record, Click on All # versions:

Look for another source.

Video on How ERIC selects journals to index

How journals are added to ERIC

How does ERIC select publications for the online library?

ERIClogoTwice a year, in the spring and fall, ERIC reviews journals and producers of conference papers, reports, and books as potential candidates for inclusion in ERIC, using a revised selection policy as a guide when evaluating recommended content. The revised policy was released in January 2016 to clarify the types of materials ERIC is seeking for the collection. ERIC considers resources that are education research focused and include citations, orginal analyses of data, and well-formed arguments. ERIC also considers collection priorities, such as peer- reviewed and full-text materials.


A new video provides the answer to how ERIC selects new sources, including education-focused journals, grey literature reports, and conference papers.  Watch this video if you want to learn about the types of resources ERIC will and will not index, the source selection process, and how to recommend a new resource.

 

 

ERIC from EBSCO tutorial

Short, four minute demonstration of an ERIC database search. 

Tutorial Using ERIC

ERIC Microfiche Collection

ERIC MICROFICHE COLLECTION

The ERIC database includes references to journal articles (EJ numbers) and other publications called documents (ED numbers).  Documents added to ERIC today that are not copyrighted (ED numbered entries) are available in full text online.  However, since not all of the earlier ones have been released in digital format, they are available in microfiche.

Purdue Libraries owns these 436,622 ERIC documents on microfiche.  During the summer of 2010 this collection was shifted to storage in the Hicks Repository.  

HOW TO GET AN ERIC DOCUMENT NOW:

 

The Purdue Libraries has a full set of ERIC microfiche in the Hicks Repository in the basement of the Undergraduate Library.  So you can request it be pulled for you.   The microfiche will be sent to faculty offices; students can pick them up at the Library noted in the email they send to you.   HSSE Library (on 2nd floor) has microfiche readers.

To get  an ERIC document on microfiche:  

  • Click on this link to go to the catalog record for ERIC Microfiche:  http://catalog.lib.purdue.edu/Find/Record/2747839
  • Click on the "Find in Print" tab
  • Log into your account using your Career Account
  • Click the "Request" button for any "Item in Place"
  • Enter the ERIC ED number on the comment line and select your pick-up location

·         You can find the ED number in the ERIC record.  See sample in red box below.

                                                

       NOTE:  This only works for ED numbers; EJ numbers are journal articles and are not on microfiche.  Use the e-Journal finder to locate full text of journal articles.  Link to Online Journals

                                                

 

 

Other libraries that have ERIC microfiche collections

Purdue University has a complete set of ERIC microfiche, up to the time they stopped producing microfiche, in favor of digital documents.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Wei Zakharov
She/her/hers
Contact:
3053P WALC
765-464-2872
Contact: Twitter Page