Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Databases by Subject or Keyword
Purdue Libraries provides access to many other databases in Education and other related disciplines. A full list of databases is available at the A-Z Databases home page.
- To see databases of particular interest to Education research, choose "Education" from the subject drop-down menu
- To search by keyword, use the search box in the upper-right corner of the guide
Key Education Databases
This list includes some of the most frequently-used databases in Education research. Hover over the information icon for a description of each database's focus and contents.
Looking for full text of an articles in these databases? If an article does not have a direct HTML full-text or PDF link, look for the FIND IT @ Purdue Libraries icon or search for the article from the Purdue Libraries catalog to see if full-text access is provided through another source.
Education Source The most complete collection of full-text education journals, encompassing an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO interface) Since 1966 ERIC has indexed over 600 journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. It includes fulltext for some journals since 1993 and most since 1997. Fulltext of older ERIC documents (non journal material) are also available on microfiche: Ask at HSSE i-Desk. Unfortunately indexing is several months behind other database.
Education Full Text Duplicated in Education Source, which is a more comprehensive database. Use Education Full Text if you want a more selective database. It indexes and abstracts English language books and over 600 journals, including about 89 journals that are not indexed in ERIC. Indexing starts with 1983, abstracting in 1994, and selected full-text from 350 journals since 1996. Very up-to-date so articles appear here soon after they are published.
Educational Administration Abstracts Provides records, many in full text format, to articles related to educational leadership, management, discipline and research in the administrative area.
Professional Development Collection Includes full-text articles for over 500 professional development journals and over 200 educational reports, and indexing and abstracting for approximately 700 journals since 1965. . Examples of titles: Curriculum Administrator, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, and Reading Teacher.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
Free database. Indexes 260+ titles: popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Major Databases from Education-Related Fields
PsycINFO This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Dissertations and Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
8/6/2020 NOTE: Database is currently returning error messages when searching in the main search box. ProQuest expects to have this problem fixed with an update near the end of the month. We do not have a specific date we can provide yet.
WORKAROUND AVAILABLE: You can work around this issue by searching each sub-database (local, global) separately.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO interface) MEDLINE with full text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.
In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
Additional Resources on Databases