English

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.

From the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection, this still-growing resource provides researchers with full-text searchable, digital facsimiles of more than 12,000 printed works. These books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, span nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Afro-Americana Imprints can be searched along with Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800).

The most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings and chapters in edited volumes with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.

Coverage: 1971 – current.

Black Drama (Third Edition) contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Coverage: 1850 - present

Brings together a large collection of short fiction works produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present, compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors.

Fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies combines three resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience contains the full-text of commissioned essays detailing the Black Experience and other related materials. The IIBP covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for 58 titles. Black Studies also features the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1935-1975).

Includes seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience and covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Black Studies Periodicals (formerly The International Index to Black Periodicals) covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles. The Marshall Index is a guide to black periodicals, 1940-1946. Cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline are covered.

Non-fiction works (books, essays, articles, speeches, interviews and letters) by African-American leaders and others who have dealt with issues of race from colonial times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.

Literature and essays on feminist issues written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.

Literature of the Caribbean and Black Diaspora.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. A wide range of original primary sources representing five key topics: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body.

Primary sources, supporting materials, video, and archives supporting the disciplines of disability history and disability studies as well as other disciplines where the contributions of the disability community are often overlooked.

Open-access repository of digitized contents pages of academic journals and pop culture magazines in the fields of Feminism, Gender and Women's Studies, Sexuality Studies, and LGBTQIA+ studies.

Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.

The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.

A collection of printable Indigenous zines for distribution.

Collection of literary works, memoirs, and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.

LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

Provides the essential primary sources necessary for researchers, students, and educators to delve deeper into gay rights movements, and to explore the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.

Coverage 1946-2000s

Collection of zines written by People of Color (POC).

Collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture covering topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and including work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.

Database of queer zines for use queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes: Part 1. Debates over slavery and abolition, Part 2. Slave trade in the Atlantic world, Part 3. The institution of slavery , and Part 4. The age of emancipation.

Brings together Primary and secondary documents and collections covering an extensive time period from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Coverage 1490 - 2007

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal documents, eBooks, articles, and other materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It includes English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and can be used to support research in literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.

Focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century., including: the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.

Includes the following collections:
Issues and Identities
Voice and Vision
Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922
Female Forerunners Worldwide

Index to over 871,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Popline Subset on Women, Women of Color and Southern Women, and Women's Health and Development.

This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. It shows how women have negotiated power and status regarding private or public programs centered on their rights and social inclusion. Stressing the historical problem of the “feminization of poverty,” coupled with women’s invisibility within most foreign aid regimes and approaches to technical assistance, the project documents how women and their allies worked to balance economic growth and social improvement while navigating equity and the fairer allocation of resources. Accompanying essays by leading scholars in the field outline and critique significant shifts in approaches to development, including that of a gendered “post-development” perspective.

Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820 as told through women’s voices: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality.

Books, letters, images, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, all of which document the multiplicity of American womens reform activities from the colonial period into the 20th century. Primary document projects cover a broad range of topics; books, pamphlets, and related materials provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of womens reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries; there is also a extensive Dictionary of Social Movements, and a Chronology of Women's History.

Original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories combined with a Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives, Kew, Britain.

Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.

A collection of printable Indigenous zines for distribution.

Collection of zines written by People of Color (POC).

Database of queer zines for use queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

Open-access repository of digitized contents pages of academic journals and pop culture magazines in the fields of Feminism, Gender and Women's Studies, Sexuality Studies, and LGBTQIA+ studies.