Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Student Activism, Diversity and Inclusion Archival Collections at Purdue: Home

Student Activism, Diversity and Inclusion Archival Collections at Purdue

Protests at Purdue

Anti-hate demonstration in front of Hovde Hall.Anti-hate demonstration in front of Hovde Hall, November 16, 2016.  – Photo courtesy of WBAA, 11/16/2016

Antiwar demonstration outside of the Armory building following the May 1970 announcement of the escalation of the Vietnam War into Cambodia.Antiwar demonstration outside of the Armory building following the May 1970 announcement of the escalation of the Vietnam War into Cambodia. From: UA 62, Purdue University Office of Marketing and Media photographs collection..

About this guide

This guide is for finding archival resources that document the history of student activism at Purdue and of the faculty and staff that have been supportive of student activism. It also covers resources pertaining to diverse communities such as African American, LGBTQ, Latino,and others that have been historically marginalized and have had to struggle to have their voices heard. These resources all fall under the umbrella of our affiliation with Project STAND, a nation-wide academic library initiative to document the history of student activism. See the About Project Stand page for more information.

How to use this guide

This guide provides direct links to relevant resources broken down into three categories: collections pertaining to student activism, collections pertaining to diverse communities, and other resources worth exploring such as clippings, books and digital collections.  There are also links to several search tools for further research.

What are archival resources?

Archival resources are one-of-a-kind materials such as diaries, letters, and photos that are preserved because these materials have long-term value for research. In the Purdue Archives & Special Collections we collect the papers of faculty, staff, administrators, students, and alumni as well as records produced by university departments and student groups. For more information about using the Purdue Archives, please see our guide Primary Sources in Archives & Special Collections.

Processing and Public Services Archivist

Profile Photo
Rich Bernier
Contact:
STEW 453
765-494-9040

Using the Purdue Archives & Special Collections

FIND OUT MORE...
To find out more about using the Purdue Archives and Special Collections, view our ASC Overview guide or visit our website to the Archives and Special Collections to use a variety of different search tools.

VISIT US
The Archives are located on the fourth floor of the Humanities, Social Sciences and Education (HSSE) Library. We are open to the public Monday-Friday, 10:00 AM until 4:30 PM. Hours may be abbreviated during semester breaks and in the summertime. We encourage visitors to contact us about your research visit in advance so that we can better serve you.

CONTACT US
Email: archives@purdue.edu Phone: (765) 494-2839