Research Guides: Latin American and Latino Studies: Databases

Introduction

Latin American Studies is the scholarly study and research of Latin American countries and its people. Latin America refers to those countries and territories in the Americas where Spanish and Portuguese are the primary spoken language. Geographically, this area includes Mexico, Central and South America, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean.

Latino Studies is the scholarly study and research that focuses on the people of Latin American or Spanish-speaking descent, origin, or culture who were born and reside in the United States. This includes descendants of immigrants from Latin American countries as well as the descendants of Spanish and Portuguese colonists that settled and inhabited portions of the United States historically.

Selected Purdue University Databases for Latin American and Latino Studies

HLAS Online, the Handbook of Latin American Studies
s a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Other Databases

The following PUL databases are general, interdisciplinary databases that may contain Latino and Latin American-based materials:

Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides access to full-text articles from 200 magazines, journals, and newspapers published by the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
eHRAF World Cultures
World cultures in all their manifestations are included, primarily from the anthropological and ethnographical perspective.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of periodicals, books, literary criticisms, journal articles, and dissertations with a a focus on modern languages and literature. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American literature.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes over 2500 journals in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, archaeology, ethnology, folklore, and interdisciplinary studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of articles from an international collection of journal titles. Includes abstracts, dissertations and conference proceedings in sociology and related areas of study.
America: History and Life
Abstracts selected journal articles, book and media review citations, and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada for all historical time periods.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities. This database corresponds to the two companion publications: Historical Abstracts: Part A, Modern History Abstracts (1450-1914) and Historical Abstracts: Part B, Twentieth Century Abstracts (1914 to the Present).
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets and other documents about North, Central and South America, including accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, Native Americans, and much more. Based on Joseph Sabin's Biblioteca Americana.
PAIS International
Indexes and abstracts articles in the social sciences and includes international coverage.
Proquest Research Library
Access to a wide array of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers, many in full text. This database covers a wide range of disciplines and areas of study from social science and humanities to business and political science.
Social Sciences Citation Index
A citation database that covers more than 1,700 of the world's leading social science journals and well as more than 50 additional disciplines. A feature of this database is that it provides information on most cited articles by author and publisher.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
General database with some major Anthropology journals. Combines the Social Sciences Abstracts and the Humanities Abstracts with other databases.) This database provides cover-to-cover indexing for 492 key international English language periodicals in the Social Sciences and 500 English language periodicals in the Humanities. It is updated weekly with coverage from 1983 to the present. Abstracting begins with material in 1994.
ERIC (ED.gov Interface) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Dept. of Education, this is a bibliographic database that provides access to education-focused research materials and journal articles.