Research Guides: English: Purdue Archives & Special Collections

Purdue Archives & Special Collections

The collections in the Purdue University Archives and Special Collections (ASC) cover a wide variety of topics, eras, and formats, but have four special focus areas: Purdue University History, Flight and Space Exploration Archives, Psychoactive Substances Research Collection, and Women’s Archives. Visit the ASC website (https://www.lib.purdue.edu/spcol) for more information about these collecting areas or to search collections. These collections are available for anyone to access and consult in the Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center, located on the fourth floor of the Humanities, Social Science, and Education Library in Stewart Center.

Where to Browse the Archives Online

ASC website: https://www.lib.purdue.edu/spcol

Collections database: https://archives.lib.purdue.edu/

e-Archives (digitized materials): https://earchives.lib.purdue.edu/

Purdue Historical Newspapers Database: https://historicalnewspapers.lib.purdue.edu/

Rare Books: From the Libraries catalog advanced search page, narrow to Rare Books & Manuscripts under the Search For options at the top of the page: https://purdue.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01PURDUE_PUWL:PURDUE&mode=advanced

How to Visit the Archives In Person

The archives are available both to members of the Purdue community and the general public. If you wish to examine something in the archives, contact archives@purdue.edu to set up an appointment and have archive employees make the needed materials available to you. Additional instructions can be found on this page: https://www.lib.purdue.edu/spcol/access-and-reference-information

In This LibGuide

The other tabs on this page contain a small selection of items within the archives that one might find interesting for particular areas of study within the English department. It is by no means exhaustive, but merely a representative sample.

For Questions and Additional Information

Contact archives@purdue.edu.

Ancient and Medieval Manuscript Leaves collection
The Ancient and Medieval Manuscript Leaves collection (30 B.C.E. – 18th Century; 0.5 cubic feet) contains leaves from Breviaries, Books of Hours, Antiphonaries, Bibles, an Anthology of Persian Poetry, Byzantine Music Notation, and a papyrus fragment. Most of the leaves are vellum; however, a few of the leaves are paper. The collection demonstrates a variety of medieval texts, languages, inks, and artistic styles. This particular collection is an excellent teaching tool for many classes in the humanities.
Medieval Manuscripts
The Ancient and Medieval Manuscript Leaves collection digitized in e-archive form.
Andreae manuscript, summa de sponsalibus et de matrimoniis
An unedited treatise on the legal ramifications of betrothal and marriage in the Middle Ages by Johannes Andreae.
Book of Hours
One 15th century manuscript, bound. France, ca. 1470.
Gregory the Great, Homilies on Ezekiel illuminated manuscript
Illuminated manuscript on vellum, Gregory the Great, Homilies on Ezekiel, in Latin, North-Eastern Germany, Huysburg Abbey, near Halberstadt, 1466. This is one of the key texts of Western monasticism. Manuscript is in a later (19th century) leather binding by W. Pratt, tooled with floral panels and chevrons. The manuscript includes a range of codicological features such as glossing, parchment repair, a scribal colophon, decorated initials, an organized rubrication system, and clear pricking... [see link for further description]
Hymnal manuscript, circa early 16th century
Early 16th-century manuscript hymnal, in Latin [Germany]: NP, ND (circa 1500s). Quarto (6 6/8 X 8 6/8 X 1"). Unpaginated. [96] leaves (ms from leaf 3 to leaf 91). Written in Germany, possibly in the area of Fulda, whose patron saints are Simplicius, Faustinus, and their sister Beatrix. The manuscript later passed to the Benedictine monastery of Amorbach, whose 17th or 18th-century ex-libris is on the upper margin on f.4. The manuscript contains numerous mentions of liturgical music (nocturnos (Nocturnes), laudes (Praises), nona (None), vesperas (Vespers), and others), and the text, unique and never published (to our knowledge), is often accompanied with musical notations in top and bottom margins... [see link for further description]
Palm leaf book
Bound manuscript on palm leaf base, possibly made in India, Burma, or Siam. Palm leaves were an early type of writing material. The scribe scratched characters into the leaves using a sharp pointed instrument or stylus, then applied soot mixed with oil or pigment into the incised lines to make the writing visible. Holes were punched in the leaves, which were then strung on cords to hold them together. This manuscript has cords with decorative coins, and is “bound” between two wooden boards. Date unknown, provenance unknown (likely purchased by library as a teaching resource, circa 1960s) .
Rare Book Leaves collection
The Rare Book Leaves collection (1440-late 19/20th century; 0.5 cubic feet) collection contains leaves from Buddhist scriptures, Golden Legend, Sidonia the Sorceress, Nuremberg Chronicle, Codex de Tortis, and an illustrated version of Wordsworth’s poem Daffodils. The collection demonstrates a variety of printing styles and paper. This particular collection is an excellent teaching tool for many classes in the humanities.
Sermon Collection manuscript
Franciscan (?) collection of sixty-four sermons, "Sermones de tempore et de sanctis," attributed to a preacher, probably thirteenth century, known as "Thomas." Created in Southern Europe, probably in Italy possibly Southern France, in the fourteenth century. "Sermones de tempore" include sermons for the Proper of Time (the Sundays and Feasts celebrating the life of Christ, including the moveable feasts associated with Easter); "Sermones de sanctis" include sermons for the feasts of the saints and the Virgin Mary. This manuscript includes sermons from both cycles, in addition to sermons for various other occasions (the dedication of an altar, for example). These sermons are not presented in the traditional order based on the feast year. The sermons have distinctively scholastic, philosophical, and even mysterical characterics, with sophisticated structure. Related to a collection of sermons previously thought to exist in a single manuscript, now in the Vatican Library, MS Vat. Burghes. 80, the only to mention Thomas by name... [see link for further description]

George Ade Papers
The George Ade papers (1878-1947; 29 Cubic ft.) document the personal and professional life of author, humorist, and playwright George Ade. The collection includes original writings, manuscripts, personal correspondence, photographic materials, and artifacts. Notable persons include: John T. McCutcheon, William Dean Howells, Mark Twain, Booth Tarkington, James Whitcomb Riley, W.C. Fields, Will Rogers, Elsie Janis, Theodore Dreiser, "Chick" Evans, Orson Welles, Kin Hubbard, Theodore Roosevelt, Charles Major, and Purdue presidents James H. Smart, Winthrop E. Stone, and Edward C. Elliott.
Authors letters collection
The Indiana Authors Letter Collection contains letters from some of the state's most successful authors. The collection encompasses the "Golden Age of Indiana Literature," a time period in which Hoosier authors achieved both national prominence and popular acclaim.
Paul Fatout papers
This collection consists of research materials collected by author Paul Fatout for his various publications regarding Mark Twain, Ambrose Bierce, Indiana canals, and other subjects. Types of materials include manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, fan mail, book reviews, research notes, microfilm, and subject files. Please see PDF Finding Aid for collection inventory.
Rare Book Leaves collection
The Rare Book Leaves collection (1440-late 19/20th century; 0.5 cubic feet) collection contains leaves from Buddhist scriptures, Golden Legend, Sidonia the Sorceress, Nuremberg Chronicle, Codex de Tortis, and an illustrated version of Wordsworth’s poem Daffodils. The collection demonstrates a variety of printing styles and paper. This particular collection is an excellent teaching tool for many classes in the humanities.
Collection on James Whitcomb Riley
The Collection on James Whitcomb Riley consists of a group of four letters written by James Whitcomb Riley: one autographed, signed letter to fellow poet Henry Abbey; and a group of three autographed, signed letters, all to Mrs. Anna Smith Brown of Indianapolis, all in regards to "an old lisping jingle." There are six letters written by Marguerite Young to Miss Lesley Payne (Riley's niece) in Indianapolis. These long letters are about her writings, a novel, and a biography of James Whitcomb Riley, which was to be published by William Sloane as a volume of the American Men of Letters Series. There is a four page letter written by Lora L. Luce to Mary R. Payne (Riley's sister) asking about "The Passing of the Backhouse," with a group of five booklets related to this poem

George Ade Papers
The George Ade papers (1878-1947; 29 Cubic ft.) document the personal and professional life of author, humorist, and playwright George Ade. The collection includes original writings, manuscripts, personal correspondence, photographic materials, and artifacts. Notable persons include: John T. McCutcheon, William Dean Howells, Mark Twain, Booth Tarkington, James Whitcomb Riley, W.C. Fields, Will Rogers, Elsie Janis, Theodore Dreiser, "Chick" Evans, Orson Welles, Kin Hubbard, Theodore Roosevelt, Charles Major, and Purdue presidents James H. Smart, Winthrop E. Stone, and Edward C. Elliott.
Authors letters collection
The Indiana Authors Letter Collection contains letters from some of the state's most successful authors. The collection encompasses the "Golden Age of Indiana Literature," a time period in which Hoosier authors achieved both national prominence and popular acclaim.
Felix and Selma Stefanile papers
The Felix and Selma Stefanile papers (1920-2009; 26.75 cubic feet) document the personal and professional lives of Felix and Selma Stefanile. The collection includes rough drafts and notes of Felix and Selma's published poems and essays. It also contains personal papers which document both of their lives in New York before they came to live in West Lafayette, Indiana. Many of the photographs are focused on Felix's childhood, early life, middle and later years. The photographs document less of Selma Stefanile's life independently but do show Felix and Selma's life together. Types of materials include: rough drafts, notes, correspondence, pamphlets, notebooks, photographs, compact discs, and records. The papers are organized into seven series: Career as a writer, General business papers, Correspondence, Personal life, Photographs, Artifacts, and Oversize items. History of Sparrow magazine Sparrow was a poetry journal started in 1954 by Felix and Selma Stefanile... [see link for further description]
Aldous Huxley papers
This collection contains three letters. Two letters concern Huxley’s novel Island, and are addressed to L. Rust Hills, who was the fiction editor at Esquire magazine from 1956 until 1963. One letter concerns the clinical availability of LSD and references the pharmaceutical companies that were manufacturing LSD, mescaline, and psilocybin in 1961.
Indiana Poetry Society papers
The Indiana Poetry Society papers is a collection of manuscript poems and letters by members of the Indiana Poetry Society, as gathered by the society president and founder, Eletha Mae Taylor, along with some of her personal papers. Among the personal papers is a composition book containing notations on the study of poetry and literature and spelling/vocabulary lists, music scores, poetry, newspaper clippings and correspondence.
Charles and Alice Shaw Major papers
The Charles and Alice Shaw Major Papers (1847-1949; 51.25 cubic feet) document the personal and professional life of Charles Major and his wife Alice Major. Charles Major was an author and a member of the Purdue University board of trustees. The papers consist of Charles Major's literary works, materials from various theatrical productions, poetry written by Major, sketches, and materials from Major’s law career. The Majors' personal life is represented by the materials collected by Alice Shaw Major including household accounts, family mementos, and memorabilia from their many travels. Also included in this collection are the personal writings of Alice Major. Types of materials include: correspondence, printed material, diaries, photographs, programs, manuscripts, theatrical scripts, receipts, and ephemera. The Charles and Alice Shaw Major Papers are organized into 13 series and an addendum collection.
Mark Shaw papers
The research notes, publications, photographs, recordings, and personal items detailing the life and work of Purdue alumnus and author Mark Shaw. The collection documents Shaw's research and writing, and includes the transcripts of the Jack Ruby trial, extensive research regarding twentieth century journalist and reporter Dorothy Kilgallen, research regarding Marilyn Monroe, and several books, news clippings, and other articles. The collection also contains many works by Shaw, including the published book and manuscript for his work "Collateral Damage," and several recordings.
George Barr McCutcheon manuscripts
Evaleen Stein papers
The Evaleen Stein papers (1889-2005; 0.1 cubic feet) document the life and career of Evaleen Stein, one of the first female authors of note from Indiana. The collection consists of seven of Stein’s poems and letters from Ms. Stein to Mrs. William Graham, one of which describes a benefit that was thrown for Ms. Stein by several notable Indiana authors (George Ade, James Whitcomb Riley, Charles Major, etc) to enable her travel to Europe. All but one poem in the collection are handwritten by Ms. Stein. Also included in the collection are two letters written by Glen Swiggett to the Purdue libraries during the process of donating some of Ms. Stein’s poems and clippings of an article and unpublished book introduction written by Robert Kriebel (who has done extensive research on Evaleen Stein and her family). Although it is a small collection, the papers do reflect Stein’s writing style and provide insight into her relationships with other people. The collection might be useful to researchers interested in prominent individuals in the greater Lafayette area, Indiana poets, female authors, and nature writing in the early twentieth century. Types of materials include correspondence, poetry, and clippings. The papers are organized into a single series.

Purdue University African American Students, Alumni and Faculty collection
The Purdue University African American Students, Alumni and Faculty collection donated by Alexandria Cornelius, was likely gathered during her research on African American students, alumni and faculty at Purdue University. Historical information was gathered from numerous newspapers, Debris yearbooks, directories, statistics, and questionnaires sent to black alumni. Also included are Black Cultural Center newsletters, along with programs and flyers from the Black Cultural Center and The African American Studies and Research Center. Prominent alumni featured include, Helen Bass Williams, Glenn Robinson, Lawrence Burton, Judge A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr. and Eugene B. Jackson. Also included is information on former faculty members, Antonio (Tony) Zamora, director, Black Cultural Center, 1973-1995 and Orlando L. Taylor, recipient of honorary Doctor of Letters, 1994.
Types of materials include: brochures, by-laws, various clippings, directories, flyers, historical documents, newsletters, photocopies of articles, programs, questionnaires and statistics.
Purdue University African American Studies records
The Purdue University African American Studies records contain information and publications related to the African American Studies program at Purdue University, including newsletters, publications, planning and development records, and information about sponsored events dating from the early days of the program in the 1960s through the mid-1980s. Most of the materials in this collection were published under one of the program's previous names, as Africana Studies or Afro-American Studies.
Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center records
The Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center records (1995-2018) document the history and activities of the center since its foundation in 2015. The collection also contains materials about events hosted by Asian and Asian American focused student organization. Of particular interest might be the Event Recap forms, as they provide an insight into various campus events (co-)hosted by AAARCC in various semesters. Another highlight of the collection is the material from the 2013 Art Voice Exhibit “The Languages and Politics of Inclusion,” as it reflects expressions of Asian and Asian American identities at Purdue. The collection may be useful for researchers interested in diversity and inclusion events at Purdue in the twenty-first century. Types of materials include: printed materials (flyers, poster, brochures), photographs, artifacts (note pads, pens, tote bag, plastic cups, t-shirt, flag, lip balm), clippings.
Purdue University Black Cultural Center records
The materials in this collection document the programs, activities, and community created by and surrounding the Purdue University Black Cultural Center (BCC) from its inception in 1969 up until the present day. It includes publications about the African American community; newspaper clippings and marketing material created by or with the subject of the BCC; photographs of the BCC, its events, students, and staff; speeches delivered by or about the BCC; correspondence between members of the BCC and other organizations both on and off the Purdue campus; and audio-visual recordings for various events hosted by the BCC, including but not limited to: performances by the BCC’s Performing Arts Ensembles, the Black Cultural Arts Festival, guest speaker events, and documentaries about the BCC and the African American experience at Purdue.
Latino Cultural Center records
The materials in this collection document the programs, activities, and community created by and surrounding the Latino Cultural Center. This includes records, publications, correspondence, and media related to the Latino Cultural Center and its goals and activities, both within Purdue University and the Greater Lafayette area and surrounding communities. This collection may be helpful to researchers interested in minority communities, student life, immigration studies, and minority women leaders.
LGBTQ Center records
The LGBTQ Center records (1973-2018) document the history and activities of the center since its foundation in 2012. As one of six Cultural and Resource Centers at Purdue, the collection contains materials from related relevant events co-sponsored by the center or attended by staff and LGBTQ community members. Some materials prior to the foundation of the Center relating to LGBTQ-related student organizations are also included in the collection. Of particular interest might be the documentation of creating LGBTQ courses and establishing a LGBTQ studies minor as well as the various 2015 drafted reports on racist incidents on campus, students’ intercultural knowledge and competence, and Safe Zone data. Another highlight of the collection is the 2016 Banner of Hope, as it reflects concerns and thoughts of a vulnerable student population in the aftermath of the 2016 presidential election. The collection was transferred by the LGBTQ Center in 2013 and 2017. The collection may be useful for researchers interested in diversity and inclusion events and activism in and around Purdue University in the twenty-first century. Types of materials include: correspondence, printed materials (flyers, brochures, posters), photographs, artifacts (water bottles, t-shirts, spring coil), plaques, newspaper clippings, digital videos.
Philosophy Born of Struggle Conference records
These records document the Philosophy Born of Struggle Conference, an annual conference relating to the African American philosophy movement. Conference programs, abstracts, speakers, lectures, interviews, and publicity are included along with administrative information and historical perspectives regarding the Conference. Materials for the Struggle and Liberation Today/Lucha y Liberación Hoy virtual confernece sponsondered by the Philosophy Born of Struggle Conference and held in 2021 are also included.

George Ade Papers
The George Ade papers (1878-1947; 29 Cubic ft.) document the personal and professional life of author, humorist, and playwright George Ade. The collection includes original writings, manuscripts, personal correspondence, photographic materials, and artifacts. Notable persons include: John T. McCutcheon, William Dean Howells, Mark Twain, Booth Tarkington, James Whitcomb Riley, W.C. Fields, Will Rogers, Elsie Janis, Theodore Dreiser, "Chick" Evans, Orson Welles, Kin Hubbard, Theodore Roosevelt, Charles Major, and Purdue presidents James H. Smart, Winthrop E. Stone, and Edward C. Elliott.
Robert W. Babcock papers
The Robert W. Babcock papers contain numerous lecture notes on Shakespearean plays, along with margin notations by Professor Babcock. The lecture notes are a rich example of Babcock's engaging teaching style. There are also publications edited by Babcock, who was the first editor for Purdue University.
Purdue University Harlequin Club collection
The Purdue University Harlequin Club collection contains programs and sheet music from the productions held by the club. Several of the productions are based on books and lyrics written by Purdue alummus and playwright, George Ade. The programs also feature some of the businesses in the area during the early 1900s. There is one button, "Wintergreen for President," from the Harlequin Show, "Of Thee I Sing," undated.