Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Education: EDCI 660 LDT Seminar

This is a guide for doing research in education.

Education Source Tutorials

Education Source is a subscription database which indexes more journals than ERIC or Education Full Text databases.  It is an enlargement of Education Full Text, so searching both databases normally would not increase the number of articles found.  

Education Source:

  • indexes about 2,850 journals
  • has full text from 1,800 journals (adding 366 currently published journals to Purdue's collection)
  • indexes 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers,

ERIC from EBSCO tutorial

Short, four minute demonstration of an ERIC database search. 

Endnote Basic Library Guide

Basic Library Information and Important Links (EDCI 660)

Important links:

·     Education Librarian, Judy Nixon:   jnixon@purdue.edu

·     Education Subject Guide:   http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/education

·     Endnote Basic  Guide:   http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/EndNoteBasic 

·     Tutorial for Education Students:  http://www.lib.purdue.edu/content/tutorials-education

 Quick notes:

1.   Education books are at the Humanities, Social Science & Education Library, called HSSE, in Stewart Center.  The E in HSSE stands for Education.  Here is a tutorial which is a tour of the HSSE Library.  Tour of HSSE

2.  Purdue Libraries home page is www.lib.purdue.edu  

       Here is a link to a tutorial on using the home page:  Home Page Tutorial

3.  To see if we own a book in print or electronic format, click on the "Books & Media" tab. 

5.   85+% of our education journals are in electronic format.   To find a specific journal online click on "Online Journals" link.  Print journals are located in the Periodicals area of HSSE Library.  Enter from HSSE 1st floor – northeast corner. 

       See map:  https://www.lib.purdue.edu/sites/default/files/libraries/hsse/firstFloorDetail.pdf   

6.  I recommend using specific databases, rather than the “Search All” tab.  The most important databases in education are Education Source and ERIC.   Or click on the icon for “Databases”and scan list. 

  

8.       Need quick help?  Use our “Ask a Librarian” service to chat or email a librarian.  Go to http://purl.lib.purdue.edu/web/askalib  or look for this link:                                                                 

 

9.     Need to renew  a book, or ask Interlibrary Loan to get a book or article that Purdue doesn’t own, click on the “SERVICE” tab.   

 

Need help finding education related resources? 

Go to URL:  http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/education.  Here is what the page looks like.  Under each tab are hints, tutorials and links.

 

  

Linking to Library Resources from Google Scholar

You can access Purdue University Library materials from off-campus using Google Scholar through EZProzy.   EZProxy won't be initiated until you click through the "Full Text at Purdue" link and attempt to access a resource.

First you must set up your library links to display the "Full Text at Purdue" link when off-campus.  On campus users are recognized by their IP and no configuration is needed.

1. Go to Google Scholar - http://scholar.google.com

2. Click on the settings gear gear icon that is located on the top right hand side of the screen, below the black bar.

Google Scholar Image 1

3. Type "Purdue University" into the "Library Links" box. Click on "Find Library."  Search for Purdue University , and select "Purdue University Libraries - Full Text at Purdue".

5. Select "Save."

6. Now the Full Text at Purdue link should appear in Google Scholar each time you run a search from off campus.

 

When you click the Full Text at Purdue link you will see vendors that provide the item through the Purdue Universtiy Libraries.

You will then need to log in with your Boilerkey.

BoilerKey login

 

Then you will be taken to the article or journal just as if you were on-campus.  Sometimes you may be required to browse for the specific article in an archive or table of contents.  Look for a PDF link to the article. 

Citation Searching

What is citation searching?

  • Tracking references that have cited, or listed in its bibliography, an article, book, or book chapter.
  • Find WHO HAS CITED a given article, book, book chapter, or author.

Why do it?

  1. To locate newer material related to a given publication or author.
  2. To see who is citing one (or all) of your publication.  To show the impact of your work by seeing who is citing you.
  3. To find other researchers in a field.

Where to do citation searching?

Many databases have a "cited by" link.  However, the number of cited works will vary because each database is counting the citations in its database.  

  • Google Scholar is the most comprehensive.  
  • Web of Science (and its sub-databases Social Science Citation Index, Humanities Citation Index and Science Citation Index) is the most well-known and recognized.

Top ones are:

  1. Web of Science
  2. Google Scholar
  3. Scopus

Other databases that also have "cited by" links: 

  1. Education Source
  2. Academic Search Premier
  3. PsycInfo
  4. JSTOR