Research Guides: Creating a LibGuide: Content Items

Most Used Content Item Types

Book from the Catalog assets can be used when you want to feature books on your guide. They're formatted in a way that provides more information and visual interest than a Link asset. Keep in mind that these assets are not actually connected to the Libraries' catalog so you may need to populate information manually. See the Add Content page for details on adding a Book from the Catalog.

Example

A Black Women's History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry
2021 NAACP Image Award Nominee: Outstanding Literary Work - Non-Fiction Honorable Mention for the 2021 Organization of American Historians Darlene Clark Hine Award A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism. Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross offer an examination and celebration of Black womanhood, beginning with the first African women who arrived in what became the United States to African American women of today. A Black Women's History of the United States reaches far beyond a single narrative to showcase Black women's lives in all their fraught complexities. Berry and Gross prioritize many voices: enslaved women, freedwomen, religious leaders, artists, queer women, activists, and women who lived outside the law. The result is a starting point for exploring Black women's history and a testament to the beauty, richness, rhythm, tragedy, heartbreak, rage, and enduring love that abounds in the spirit of Black women in communities throughout the nation.

Database assets pull directly from the A-Z List so access and maintenance is handled in a single location (not on the guide) which helps prevent any access issues for patrons. See the Add Content page for details on adding a Database asset.

Example

ABI/INFORM Global
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database covering the broadest range of business topics for both academic researchers and professionals in the workplace. In addition to thousands of scholarly journals, includes full articles from The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.

You can upload documents and files to LibGuides and reuse them across multiple guides without having to upload them multiple times. This also means that replacing outdated files is super easy!

Example

Assignment 1
This assignment covers pgs. 1-38 in the textbook.

Link assets should be used for adding websites to a guide and like other assets, can be reused over and over so they only need to be added once. See the Add Content page for details on adding a Link asset and how to reuse an existing Link asset.

Example

Google Scholar
Provides access to a variety of different scholarly resources and enables users to see how frequently scholars and works are cited.

Widgets are probably the most dynamic asset type. They can be created for a variety of things such as videos, ask a librarian chats, social media, and more.

Examples

Hyperlink rich text links can be used when you want to add a link within a sentence or paragraph of text. These are not assets, do not track statistics, and are not caught by the Link Checker so they should be used sparingly and should not be used for lists of resources. In those cases, you should use Link assets.

Example

For more information on Libraries' resources, visit our website.

Assets

Most content items added in LibGuides are referred to as assets and are automatically stored in the assets library. You can access the assets library by clicking on the Content menu (in the yellow/orange menu) above this guide and selecting "Assets."

The most common assets you'll use include:

Books from the Catalog
Databases
Documents/Files
Links*
Widgets

*Links refers to the asset type, not hyperlinked rich text links. See Hyperlinks, Links, and Databases video for explanation.