ENGT Capstone Research Guide

"An extremely useful handbook for students and any newcomers to survey research."--NetworkRecent research has yielded many new clues about how survey questions "behave," and some of these findings have offered practical guidance for question writing. Volume 63 reviews this experimental literature and provides both general guiding principles and specific advice on how to develop a survey questionnaire, emphasizing the practical implications of the experience and research of questionnaire designers. The authors also suggest a number of ways in which to make pilot and pretest work more fruitful. The material is easily accessible, yet professionally sophisticated.This volume should be useful to social scientists and others who design survey questionnaires. Learn more about "The Little Green Book" - QASS Series! Click Here

The industry standard guide, updated with new ideas and SPSS analysis techniques Designing and Conducting Survey Research: A Comprehensive Guide Fourth Edition is the industry standard resource that covers all major components of the survey process, updated to include new data analysis techniques and SPSS procedures with sample data sets online. The book offers practical, actionable guidance on constructing the instrument, administrating the process, and analyzing and reporting the results, providing extensive examples and worksheets that demonstrate the appropriate use of survey and data techniques. By clarifying complex statistical concepts and modern analysis methods, this guide enables readers to conduct a survey research project from initial focus concept to the final report. Public and nonprofit managers with survey research responsibilities need to stay up-to-date on the latest methods, techniques, and best practices for optimal data collection, analysis, and reporting. Designing and Conducting Survey Research is a complete resource, answering the "what", "why", and "how" every step of the way, and providing the latest information about technological advancements in data analysis. The updated fourth edition contains step-by-step SPSS data entry and analysis procedures, as well as SPSS examples throughout the text, using real data sets from real-world studies. Other new information includes topics like: Nonresponse error/bias Ethical concerns and special populations Cell phone samples in telephone surveys Subsample screening and complex skip patterns The fourth edition also contains new information on the growing importance of focus groups, and places a special emphasis on data quality including size and variability. Those who employ survey research methods will find that Designing and Conducting Survey Research contains all the information needed to better design, conduct, and analyze a more effective survey.