Workshop Description:
As academic research becomes increasingly reliant on digital tools, the ability to efficiently access and analyze information is vital for graduate students. This workshop aims to equip participants with the skills necessary to leverage the power of academic databases (e.g., JSTOR, IEEE Xplore, Google Scholar) and open data repositories (e.g., Kaggle, Data.gov) to support their theses, dissertations, and academic projects.
The workshop will include hands-on demonstrations, allowing students to interact with key platforms, practice search techniques, and learn how to curate high-quality academic materials. We will cover the full data search spectrum as well as highlighting the role of online databases and repositories in facilitating each stage of academic inquiry.
By mastering online tools and database platforms, students will become more effective researchers, capable of finding, managing, and integrating vast amounts of scholarly and data-driven resources into their work.
Workshop Objectives:
Introduce participants to a wide range of online tools and databases for conducting data searches and literature reviews.
Teach effective strategies for searching academic literature, including using advanced search techniques and filters.
Demonstrate how to access high-quality, peer-reviewed research from various academic sources, including open-access platforms.
Equip participants with the skills to evaluate and organize their sources effectively.
Expected Benefits to Students:
Efficient Research Process: Students will learn how to use specialized tools and databases to perform efficient data and literature searches, saving time and improving the quality of their research.
Critical Evaluation Skills: Students will be able to critically evaluate sources and select high-quality research to support their thesis, dissertation, or project work.
Access to Global Resources: The workshop will provide access to open-access repositories and online databases that offer global research resources, expanding the reach of students’ research.
Examples of Major Academic Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Examples of Open Data Respositories
