Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Student Activism, Diversity and Inclusion Archival Collections at Purdue: About Project STAND

Student Activism, Diversity and Inclusion Archival Collections at Purdue

Chinese Students Intramural Basketball Team

Chinese students intramural basketball team as part of the interchurch basketball league, 1925.

Chinese students intramural basketball team as part of the interchurch basketball league, 1925.  The non-religeous team took pleasure in competing as "the Chinese" against such teams as the Methodists and the Presbyterians. From MSP 25, J. C. Allen and Son, Inc. photographs and negatives.

Student Protest, 1968

Student protest inside of the Placement Services Office demanding the University ban the CIA and Dow Chemical from recruiting on Purdue's campus due to their role in the Vietnam war, October 1968.

Student protest inside of the Placement Services Office demanding the University ban the CIA and Dow Chemical from recruiting on Purdue's campus due to their role in the Vietnam war, October 1968.  From UA 62, Purdue University Office of Marketing and Media photographs collection.

What is Project STAND

Project STAND is an online clearinghouse where academic institutions can provide researchers a centralized access point to historical and archival documentation on the development and on-going occurrences of student dissent. Project STAND focuses on digital and analog primary sources that document the activities of student groups that represent the concerns of historically marginalized communities (e.g., African American, Latino, LGBTQ, religious minorities, disabled, etc.). STAND also highlights the work of faculty, staff, and administrators who advocate for or support student activism.

Purdue's Commitment to Project STAND

Purdue University Archives and Special Collections became a member of Project STAND in the fall of 2017.  A Purdue student serves on the Student Advisory Committee and helped create the Archiving Student Activism Toolkit.  The Purdue Archives submits collections pertaining to student protests and historically marginalized communities to Project STAND, to increase awareness of and use of these collections.  Our goal is to build rich collections of archival materials that capture the history of student dissent and the history of cultural and ethnic diversity at Purdue.

Types of Materials relevant to Project STAND

The Purdue Archives and Special Collections contains collections pertaining to student activism including underground newspapers, manuscript collections and university records from students, faculty and administrators. Many of the collections documenting marginalized communities come from the campus cultural centers.  Material extends from the 1960s to the present day.  We thrive to expand our holdings of historical collections to cover any time period of Purdue history, including documenting and capturing history in the making.