Research Guides: Research Impact at Purdue: Web of Science

Web of Science: All Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Introduction to Web of Science

Web of Science is the oldest citation database in the world, it has been covering citations since the early 2000s and it is a multi-disciplinary repository of research output from global sources. It specializes in collecting abstracts and citations for Social Sciences and Hard Sciences research output, but maintains moderate coverage of the Arts & Humanities. It indexes from 10,000 of the most cited, peer-reviewed journals starting from around the year 1900, with citations starting in 1997.

Uses of Web of Science

Search for articles, conference proceedings, patents, and many other types of research output
Find author information, such as H-index, and other metrics
Perform citation searches on known articles
Identify promising journals in which to publish
Find subject experts
Manage your impact by linking your ORCID ID with your profile
Conduct literature reviews

Metrics in Web of Science

There a number of highly useful metrics in Web of Science author profiles that the reader can make use of...they are...

A document count
The number of documents in the "core" collection
H-Index
Number of times cited
Times cited by patents
Total number of papers cited