Research Guides: Nuclear Engineering: Key Resources

Books & Articles

Search for Books @ Purdue
Select the "Books & Media" option from the drop down menu. This tool will search descriptive information (title, author, subjects, etc) about ebooks, books, and media owned by Purdue.

Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined) Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases. Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Google Scholar Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is a government agency that protects the people's health and safety in regards to nuclear energy.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) (http://www.eia.gov/nuclear/) is a one-stop shop for all data and statistics on nuclear power. Topics covered include nuclear operable units, electricity generation, storage of radioactive waste, and state of operating nuclear power plants. While the focus of this data is on nuclear power in the United States, there is also data provided for yearly international nuclear electricity generation.
U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
The Department of Energy manages the United States' nuclear infrastructure and administers the country's energy policy. The Department of Energy also funds scientific research in the field.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) - NUREG Series Publications (not all regulations)
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 10, Chapter 1 (NRC website)
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 10, Chapter 1 (GPO website)

INIS-International Nuclear Information System This link opens in a new window
The INIS Collection contains information about peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. It currently contains 2.7 million bibliographic abstracts of journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents and theses and web documents.