Research Guides: Nuclear Engineering: Nuclear Engineering Data &amp; Statistics

Data & Statistical Resources

Data is raw information that is analyzed and interpreted to create statistics. Many of the sources below contain both raw data sets and statistical information.

Nuclear Data & Statistics Sources:

NEA Nuclear Data Services
NEA maintains and offers access to a number of databases containing: evaluated data, experimental data, and bibliographic information.
IAEA - Nuclear Data Services
IAEA - Research Reactors
Obtain global nuclear reactor information. Site allows users to generate and export reports containing details like geographic location, operational status, date of construction, ownership, technical data, utilization, etc.
IAEA - PRIS (Power Reactor Information System)
The Power Reactor Information System (PRIS), developed and maintained by the IAEA for over four decades, is a comprehensive database focusing on nuclear power plants worldwide.
more...less...
The database covers:
-Reactor specification data (status, location, operator, owner, suppliers, milestone dates) and technical design characteristics.
-Performance data including energy production and energy loss data, outage and operational event information.
U.S. Energy Information Administration - Nuclear & Uranium Resources
Provides statistics, analysis, projections, interactive data visualizations and more.

General Data Repositories and Statistical Sources:

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
Global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.
Proquest Statistical Insight Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, state governments, private organizations, and major international governmental organizations. Search between approximately 200,000 to 500,000 tables with advanced Search Tables functionality. Coverage includes over 50 years.

Purdue University Research Repository
The Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) is a research collaboration and data management solution for Purdue researchers and their collaborators.

Data Management

University of Minnesota Data Management Videos
Short training videos for researchers and students new to the topic of data management. Topics covered include:
What is data management (4:31min)
File and folder organization (8:10min)
Risk management (3:22min)
Storage and backup (8:40min)
Effective documentation (6:24min)
Qualitative data management (37:00min)
Data Management for Undergraduate Researchers
This research guide provides basic information on data management (documentation, security & back-ups, file naming conventions, data sharing, DMPs, publication/preservation), ideal for undergraduates or anyone new to the topic of data management.
Data Management Plan
Data Management Plans (DMPs) identify products generated in the proposed research—data, metadata, samples, software, algorithms, curricula, documentation, and publications—and describe best practices for disseminating, making accessible, and archiving.
Purdue Libraries Research Data
We apply the principles of library and archival sciences to meet the challenges and needs of researchers and students in finding, using, preparing, managing, curating and preserving research data. Working with our liaison librarians, we can help you plan, describe, disseminate, steward and archive your datasets.

Nuclear Engineering

Libraries Liaison to Nuclear Engineering

Ask a Librarian!

Data & Statistical Resources

Nuclear Data & Statistics Sources:

General Data Repositories and Statistical Sources:

Data Management