Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books & Articles
Search for Books @ Purdue
Select the "Books & Media" option from the drop down menu. This tool will search descriptive information (title, author, subjects, etc) about ebooks, books, and media owned by Purdue.
Selected Databases for Getting Started with Your Research:
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined) Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Knovel Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Google Scholar Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Selected Websites & Openly Available Repositories
INIS-International Nuclear Information System
The INIS Collection contains information about peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. It currently contains 2.7 million bibliographic abstracts of journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents and theses and web documents.
Purdue Libraries Ask-a-Librarian Service
Having trouble finding a specific resource? Hitting a pay wall? Can't find the Database that fits your research? Not sure where else to look? Purdue Libraries has many ways to assist you to make sure you find what you need, including by chat, email, and text.
Getting Books & Articles Purdue Does Not Own or Subscribe to
Purdue Libraries Interlibrary Loan
If we don't own it, we can probably borrow it or get a copy made for you from another library for free. Request it online.
Most articles will be sent via .pdf.
Hard copy books need to be picked up at the Interlibrary Loan Office on 2nd floor of the Humanities, Social Science & Education Library in STEWART CENTER.
Libraries Liaison to Nuclear Engineering