Loud on Paper Library Guide

A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It's for learning tips and tricks and for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It's for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others' hands.

Stolen Sharpie Revolution contains a cornucopia of information about zines and zine culture for everyone from the zine newbie to the experienced zinester to the academic researcher.

In Microcosm's DIY guide to zine-making, editors Bill Brent, Joe Biel, and a cast of contributors take you from the dreaming and scheming stages onto printing, publication and beyond! Covering all the bases for beginners, Make a Zine! hits on more advanced topics like Creative Commons licenses, legality, and sustainability. Make a Zine! also takes a look at the burgeoning indie comix scene, with a chapter by punk illustrator Fly (Slug and Lettuce, Peops.) This book is part history lesson, part how-to guide.

A first comprehensive study of lo-fi culture and DIY production of records, CDs, zines within the alternative scene-including interviews with leading musicians, writers and promoters. The book focuses on the lo-fi movements of the UK and US, and across the globe, introducing the various communities who adopted the DIY ethic, the 1950s beat movement, Riot Grrrl, Queercore and Social Activism.

Veteran zinester Julie Bartel establishes the context, history, and philosophy of zines, then ushers readers through an easy, do-it-yourself guide to creating a zine collection, including both print and electronic zines. While zines have their unique culture, they are also important within broader discussions of intellectual freedom and the Library Bill of Rights. Teen and young adult librarians, high school media specialists, and academic, reference, and adult services librarians will uncover answers to questions about this new and growing literary genre: What is a zine and how does a library zine collection work? What are the pros and cons of having a zine collection in the library? When promoting zines, what appeals to patrons and non-library users alike? What is the best way to catalog and display? Where can libraries get zines and how much do they cost? Bartel also a comprehensive directory of zine resources in this guide.

This book presents an in-depth look at adding zines successfully to a library collection. Their homegrown and esoteric aesthetic make zines important cultural and historical objects. Including them in library collections is a perfect way to amplify underrepresented voices. But the road from acquisition to cataloging these underground, self-published, and often fragile items can be difficult. This resource smooths the path forward, offering top-to-bottom guidance for collection development and acquisitions staff, administrators, catalogers, and access services librarians in understanding and processing zines for library collections. Readers will learn why these collections are valuable, and how libraries can start a collection of their own; targeted advice on zine collection development and management, including policy, selection, cataloging, and promotion; how to navigate the challenges of obtaining zines from small independent vendors, zinefests, distros, third-party donors, and art collectives; ways to work with zine creators to develop a respectful preservation program; insights from a case study exploring genre, context, and purpose in contemporary Latin American fanzines; where zines can fit in at school libraries or in one-shot instruction; and a look at the future of zines, from online zines to zine communities that are increasingly accessible, inclusive, and diverse.

A cultural history of zines, from early science fiction zines to riot grrrl tracts, and their meaning in society. Stephen Duncombe examines the political importance of zines as a vital network of popular culture. He also analyses how zines measure up to their utopian and escapist outlook in achieving fundamental social change.

What are the library services and resources that Asian Pacific Americans need? What does it mean to be an Asian Pacific American librarian in the 21st century? In Asian American Librarians and Library Services: Activism, Collaborations, and Strategies, library professionals and scholars share reflections, best practices, and strategies, and convey the critical need for diversity in the LIS field, library programming, and resources to better reflect the rich and varied experiences and information needs of Asian Americans in the US and beyond. The contributors show that they care deeply about diversity, that they acknowledge that it is painfully lacking in so many aspects of libraries and librarianship, and that libraries and the LIS profession must systematically integrate diversity and inclusion into their strategic priorities and practices, indeed, in their very mission, such that the rich diversity of experiences and histories of Asian Americans in library and archival collections, services, and programming are not only validated and recognized, but also valued and celebrated as vital components of the shared American experience. The volume recognizes and honors the creative and intentional work librarians do for their constituent Asian American communities in promoting resources, services, and outreach.

Introduces key terms, research frameworks, debates, and histories for Asian American Studies. The keywords included in this collection are central to social sciences, humanities, and cultural studies and reflect the ways in which Asian American Studies has transformed scholarly discourses, research agendas, and pedagogical frameworks. Spanning multiple histories, numerous migrations, and diverse populations, Keywords for Asian American Studies reconsiders and recalibrates the ever-shifting borders of Asian American studies as a distinctly interdisciplinary field.

A history of Asian Americans and their role in American life. The Making of Asian America shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life, from sailors who came on the first trans-Pacific ships in the 1500 to the Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II. Over the past fifty years, a new Asian America has emerged out of community activism and the arrival of new immigrants and refugees. But as Lee shows, Asian Americans have continued to struggle as both "despised minorities" and "model minorities," revealing all the ways that racism has persisted in their lives and in the life of the country.

In a blend of narrative history, personal recollection, and oral testimony, Ronald Takaki presents a sweeping history of Asian Americans. He writes of the Chinese who laid tracks for the transcontinental railroad, of plantation laborers in the canefields of Hawaii, of "picture brides" marrying strangers in the hope of becoming part of the American dream. He tells stories of Japanese Americans behind the barbed wire of U.S. internment camps during World War II, Hmong refugees tragically unable to adjust to Wisconsin's alien climate and Asian American students stigmatized by the stereotype of the "model minority."

With original essays on everything from Asian American literary classics to experimental theater, from K-pop to online gaming, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture guides both established scholars and readers new to this field through the extensive landscape of Asian American writing and cultural production. One hundred essays on varied historical periods, geographical locales, and artistic modes offer an extensive examination of racial representation and activism, interdisciplinary and comparative approaches to literary work, ethnic communities, space and place, transnational and transpacific flows, and genres such as speculative fiction, the detective novel, and melodrama. Along with literary works from the late-19th century to the 21st century, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture covers a wide-ranging selection of Asian American theatre, dance, music, visual arts, film, television, and media. With commentary on Asian American writing and artistic practice, the volumes survey the historical foundations of this field, showing the new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary and cultural traditions.