Research Guides: ECET 380: Project Management: Library and Online Resources

Welcome!

This guide will help you locate Entertainment Technology resources. If you need help with research, I am happy to help!

Research Resources

Ideas to Guide Your Search

For this search, you should be looking for engineering design process methods that fit your group's project goals. For instance, if your project has some sort of motion element, look for resources that describe motor integration into a prop.

Other things to consider:

Who is your audience? Is there any research available on the demographic to help guide your goals?
Are there patents available to help understand a mechanism you will incorporate?
What standards will you need to consider?
What material properties can you find to support your choices?

Search Tips

6 Quick Tips to Improve Your Searching from Northeastern University Libraries

Database Search Tips: Overview from MIT Libraries

Recommended Research Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature using Google. Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar ranks the search results to identify the most relevant research and includes times article has been cited.

IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel

How to effectively search Knovel

Technology Research Database (now ProQuest Technology Collection)
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Recommended Journals

International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media
Draws on research from the rapidly developing interface between new technologies and performance arts. Topics include cultural mediatization, live performance with interactive systems, and motion capture technologies, among many others.
Leonardo
International Society for the Arts, Sciences, and technology.
TD&T: Theatre Design & Technology
For design, production & technology professionals in the performing arts & entertainment industry.
Vanderbilt Journal of Entertainment and Technology Law
Dedicated to the expanding nexus of entertainment, technology, and law in an increasingly connected world.
Wired Magazine
Emerging technologies and their effect on culture, economy, and politics.

Patents

Recommended Patent Resources

The below is from Professor Dave Zwicky's Libguide.

Google Patents

This database features Google's easy-to-use search interface, but Google's search algorithm can be inconsistent when dealing with legal-

technical patent language. You can use it for doing a first pass when patentability searching, but make sure to use other resources as well.

Please read for further information or to ask for additional patent help.

Patent Lens

This free and open database of international patents has a modern search interface and offers some unique patent searching tools.

Derwent Innovations Index
This database covers international patents and rewrites the titles in easier-to-read language. Most topics go back to the 1960s. This is a subscription database for Purdue users, and not open to the general public. Derwent is recommended for researchers and students, but is not the best choice for a formal patentability search.