Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

ECET 380: Entertainment Technology

Library & online resources for Entertainment Technology

Further Resources

Annotated Bibliography

“A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic.” -- Purdue OWL

The Difference between an Annotated Bibliography and Abstract

(A more detailed description of annotated bibliographies with examples, as developed by Margaret Phillips, is in Brightspace under Content.) Abstracts can be found at the top of a scholarly article. An abstract is a summary that describes the article you are about to read. An annotated bibliography informs the reader on the content of the article and how it fits into the context of the topic being evaluated.

Annotated Bibliography Assignment Details

The annotated bibliography is a list of the 3 resources each student in your group gathered. It is in alphabetical order. Each resource has 2 parts -- a citation and a descriptive paragraph. Follow the below guidelines for each source.

  1. A citation in IEEE format.
  2. A paragraph following your citation (approx. 150) that includes:
    • A brief description (or summary) of the source (in your own words).
    • A brief evaluation of the source that includes how the source is relevant to your capstone project and how it is appropriate (has credibility) for your capstone project. Relevancy describes what in the article is of value to learn about for your capstone. Appropriateness describes what in the article applies to your capstone. Timeliness and authority are important to the appropriateness. You do not need to talk about the timeliness and authority, but you want to keep it in mind as you evaluate the source and describe why it is appropriate.

Literature Review

“A literature review is a document or section of a document that collects key sources on a topic and discusses those sources in conversation with each other (also called synthesis).” -- Purdue OWL

Literature Review Assignment Details

Your group will write the literature review together. All of your resources will be synthesized into one literature review. Follow the suggested steps for writing your literature review.

  1. Organize your ideas:
    • Review the article themes.
    • Notice the relationships between the themes and the different articles.
    • Write down the overarching story between the articles.
  2. Organize your paper following the Purdue Owl's example:
    • Introduction
    • Body
    • Conclusion
  3. When writing your review, remember to use quotes sparingly and always cite where you got your information. Review signal phrases as a way to always give credit to authors.
  4. Take the time to learn more about literature reviews to help with this assignment and future reviews: