This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care (ACVECC) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
From the ACVECC Knowledge List 2018:
"The following list of references contain the material that residents/ fellows are expected to learn with retention and comprehension during their training. To facilitate this, a recent edition of appropriate resources from each section must be provided on site at each Residency Training Facility. Computer access to the common veterinary and human medical databases must also be available on site at each Residency Training Facility.
"Large Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2018 are responsible for journal articles from the calendar year 2013-2017, and book titles published during or before 2017, and the Large Animal Additional article list.
"Small Animal Candidates sitting the examination in September 2018 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2015-2017, and book titles published during or before 2017, and the Small Animal Additional article list.
"Both Large Animal (LA) and Small Animal (SA) candidates sitting the General MCQ examination in September 2018 are responsible for journal articles from calendar years 2015-2017, and the journal articles that appear in both the Small Animal and Large Animal additional article lists.
"Please note that expected knowledge is duplicated in many of these references: it is not necessary or expected that residents will be familiar with every text listed. However, several suitable texts are listed to ensure that residents have access to all pertinent information. For each knowledge category in the Required Reading List, at least one edition of a textbook that covers the appropriate species of interest and is published within the last 10 years should be available for study and reference.
"The [Supplemental Reading List contains] reading materials that can also be reviewed in these topic areas for the species of interest."
Source: ACVECC Recommended Reading Lists, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care
This resource updated: 01/24/2018
Source reading list reviewed: 01/24/2018
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 12/14/2017
"Articles germane to the field of veterinary emergency and critical care for the appropriate species should be reviewed from the following journals:"
(for LA candidates)
(for SA candidates)
LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Clinical Pathology | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Hematology and Transfusion Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Nutrition | Oncology | Ophthalmology | Pediatrics | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology
Equine Anesthesia Monitoring and Emergency Therapy by 
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia, 6th ed. of Lumb and Jones by 
Cardiovascular Disease in Small Animal Medicine by 
Cardiology of the Horse by 
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by 
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine Clinical Pathology by 
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by 
Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Managment in the Adult by 
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by 
The Equine Hospital Manual by 
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by 
Monitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small Animal: the Rule of 20 by 
Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Manual by 
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Physiology: a Problem-Based Approach by 
Clinical Physiology of Acid-Base and Electrolyte Disorders by 
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice by 
Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology, 7th ed. by 
Point-Of-Care Ultrasound Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner by 
Infectious Diseases of the Horse: Diagnosis, Pathology, Management, and Public Health by 
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by 
Canine and Feline Endocrinology, 4th ed. by 
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine by 
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine: Diseases of the Dog and the Cat by 
Clinical Canine and Feline Respiratory Medicine by 
Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking by 
Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation: Physiological and Clinical Applications by 
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation by 
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty Sixth Edition by 
Medical Physiology a Cellular and Molecular Approach by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 13th ed. by 
De Lahunta's Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology by 
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology by 
A Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology, 3rd ed. by 
Small Animal Neurological Emergencies by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Neurology, (with DVD-ROM) by 
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals by 
Withrow and MacEwen's Small Animal Clinical Oncology, 6th edition by 
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Small Animal Pediatrics the First 12 Months of Life by 
Canine Reproduction and Neonatology: a Practical Guide for Veterinarians, Veterinary Staff, and Breeders by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Reproduction and Neonatology by 
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 10 edition by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology by 
Veterinary Toxicology: Basic and Clinical Principles, 3rd edition by 
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology by 
Small Animal Toxicology by LA = Large animal, SA = Small animal, LA/SA = All species, Human = Human beings
Anesthesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation | Emergency/Critical Care | Fluid Therapy, Acid-Base, Electrolyte | Imaging | Infectious Disease | Internal Medicine | Mechanical Ventilation | Medical Physiology | Neurology | Ophthalmology | Pharmacology | Surgery | Toxicology
Veterinary Anaesthesia Principles to Practice by Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia, 6th ed. of Lumb and Jones by 
Hemodynamic Monitoring: Evolving Technologies and Clinical Practice by 
Heart Physiology: from Cell To Circulation by 
ECG Interpretation in the Critically Ill Dog and Cat by Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by 
Clinical Blood Gases: Assessment and Intervention by 
Plumer's Principles and Practice of Infusion Therapy by Textbook of Veterinary Diagnostic Radiology, 7th ed. by 
Vanders Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition by 
Brenner & Rector's The Kidney by 
Canine and Feline Endocrinology and Reproduction by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIV by 
Saunders Solutions in Veterinary Practice: Small Animal Gastroenterology by 
Small Animal Gastroenterology by 
Management of the Mechanically Ventilated Patient by 
Rapid Interpretation of Ventilator Waveforms by Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation: Physiological and Clinical Applications by 
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty Sixth Edition by Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 13th ed. by Medical Physiology a Cellular and Molecular Approach by 
Pulmonary Pathophysiology -- the Essentials by 
West's Respiratory Physiology: the Essentials, 10th edition by 
Review of Veterinary Physiology by De Lahunta's Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology by 
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Neurology by A Practical Guide to Canine and Feline Neurology, 3rd ed. by 
Equine Clinical Pharmacology by 
Textbook of Small Animal Surgery by Veterinary Toxicology: Basic and Clinical Principles, 3rd edition by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Endocrinology by "This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually."
Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Anesthesia/Analgesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine | Endocrine | Environmental/Toxic | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Hepatobiliary | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Integument | Musculoskeletal | Neurology/Special Senses | Nutrition | Renal/Urinary | Reproductive | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPCR | Trauma
None
None
None
"This list contains articles 3-10 years old from core journals and articles within the last 10 years from non-core journals and is designed to bridge a perceived gap in the recommended reading between recent journal articles, non-core journals and textbooks. It contains article the committee deems likely to inform and impact the practice of veterinary ECC. We aim to keep this list to <100 articles and will review and update it annually. Large animal candidates should appreciate that the majority of these articles are non-species specific and shared with small animal candidates. This means that they can be used for questions on the general multiple-choice exam."
Acid-Base/Fluid/Electrolytes | Anesthesia/Analgesia | Cardiovascular | Coagulation/Transfusion Medicine | Endocrine | Environmental/Toxic | Gastrointestinal/Exocrine Pancreas | Hepatobiliary | Immunology/Hemolymphatic | Integument | Musculoskeletal | Neurology/Special Senses | Nutrition | Renal/Urinary | Reproductive | Respiratory | Sepsis/SIRS/MODS | Shock/Ischemia/CPCR
None
None
None
None
None
None
None
None
None
