Research Guides: HIST 468: Recent American History: U.S. Government Reference

U.S. Government Reference

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Biographical information on members of Congress from 1774-present.
Biographical Directory of Article III Federal Judges

The U.S. Government is the world's largest publisher producing information on subjects from accounting to zoology. These publications are excellent sources for analytical and statistical information about U.S. History during this time period. Sample U.S. Government reference sources you can use include:

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.

Economic Report of the President
Annual report assessing current national economic conditions. Presents the perspective of the current presidential administration,1995-present. See FRASER for earlier years.
Health, United States
Annual report on health care policy trends and developments, 1975-present.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
Analyzes and documents U.S. and international health trends and developments including those focusing on individual diseases.
Historic U.S. Maps
Map collection courtesy of Perry Castaneda Library University of Texas-Austin.
Historical Statistics of the United States (Colonial Times to 2000)
Courtesy of Cambridge University Press.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers, etc.

Measuring Worth This link opens in a new window
Collection of publicly available high quality and the most reliable historical economic data on nominal (current-price) measures and real (constant-price measures). Data presented here covers the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Spain. Examples of featured data sets cover topics such as Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Consumer Price Index (CPI), wages, earnings, interest rates, stocks, and currency exchange rates with coverage of these items varying from county-to-country.

Public Papers of the Presidents
Features presidential speeches, proclamations, and executive orders by U.S. Presidents from Hoover through Obama.
U.S. Government Manual
National Archives directory of U.S. Government agencies and officials. Published annually since 1935.