U.S. Government documents are excellent resources for studying recent U.S. History. Purdue is one of over 1,200 U.S. federal depository libraries and general information about these resources can be found on the U.S. Government Publishing Office's website.
U.S. Department of Labor statistical arm preparing statistics on employment and unemployment, workforce trends, consumer expenditures and prices, and wholesale prices.
Provides access to current U.S. economic information and information including statistic on banking, consumer protections, fiscal and monetary policy, interest rates, and reports on regional economic conditions produced by regional branches of the Federal Reserve system.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. (Check state historical society, archives, and libraries websites for additional materials.)
The mission of the U.S. Army Center for Military History is: "to accurately collect, preserve, interpret, and express the Army's history and material culture to more broadly educate and develop our force, the military profession, and the nation."
Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, this is the official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Volumes are arranged by presidential administration, geographic region, and topic area. These volumes are generally declassified and publicly released 30 years after they were written.
Features access to declassified National Intelligence Estimates on various countries and regions. Select "Historical Collections" then "National Intelligence Council (NIC) Collection" or other collections once you connect to this site.
Provides access to the full text of many historic U.S. Government and state government documents through a collaboration between many university research libraries and Google.
HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 50 major research libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. It ingests digital content from its partner institutions as well as from Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are full text at HathiTrust, which is actively investigating the copyright status of works published up to 1964. Hathi (pronounced HAH-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, a symbol of memory, wisdom, and strength.
Records of the Watergate Special Prosecution Force (WSPF) collection, including transcripts of President Nixon's grand jury testimony of June 23-24, 1975.
Report of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders responding to Executive Order 11365 issued by President Lyndon B. Johnson on July 29, 1967.
