Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Clinical Research Resources: Library Resources & Databases

A guide for VCS60300 - Introduction of Clinical Research, Trials, and Translational Medicine

Library Resources

Veterinary Medical Library

The Veterinary Medical Library is one of 12 libraries in the Purdue University Libraries with specialized resources linked to its website. To find information and resources, try:

  • The Libraries Catalog searches for books, journal titles, and A/V materials
  • Search for journal articles in Databases. Purdue Libraries provides access to over 500 databases in all academic disciplines, including journal indexes, statistical resources, and other data, many with full-text access
  • Online Journals provides access to online journals--search here by journal name

Key databases include:

CAB Abstracts
provides comprehensive coverage of research in agriculture, biology, veterinary medicine and related fields. As the premier index to the world's veterinary literature covering 2,380+ veterinary journals, it is an excellent resource for those working with animals [Coverage: 1910 to date].

PubMed [also known as MEDLINE]
developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the first database of choice for searching the human medical research literature. Covers 90+ veterinary journals. Using the Purdue Libraries link to PubMed provides direct links into the Libraries' online journals. [Coverage: 1946 to current]. 
  -- also has a Single Citation Matcher to help figure out partial references.

Web of Science 
provides good cross coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities as well as the options of doing author and cited reference searching  [Coverage: 1900 to date for Science Citation Index portion of database].
  -- also have access to Journal Citation Reports which provides journal "impact factors."

For resources that are not available at Purdue, you can fill out the Interlibrary Loan online request form.

For additional Libraries workshops for graduate students, see the Get A G.R.I.P (Graduate Research Information Portal)

Librarian

Profile Photo
Jane Yatcilla
she/her/hers
Contact:
College of Veterinary Medicine Library
LYNN 1133E or
Wilmeth Active Learning Center WALC 3053K
765-49-42856