National and European resources in bioinformatics:
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
- NCBI Site Map
- View NCBI resources by categories using this graphical site map.
- Educational Resources
A alphabetical list of available NCBI tools
- NCBI Handbook
Focused on the relatively stable information about each NCBI resource; each chapter in the handbook provides a brief overview on using a specific resource, how the resource works, including topics such as how data is included in a database, database design, query processing, and how the different resources relate to each other.
- Coffee Break
NCBI resource that combines reports on recent biomedical discoveries with use of NCBI tools.
Global cross-database NCBI search engine.
- European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI)
European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) is a non-profit academic organization which manages databases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures. The mission of the EBI is to ensure that the growing body of information from molecular biology and genome research is placed in the public domain and is accessible freely to all facets of the scientific community in ways that promote scientific progress.
You can also access the Bioinformatics at Purdue subpage by scrolling over the above Bioinformatics tab and clicking on the desired subject in the drop-down menu.