Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Streaming Video Collections: Kanopy

A tutorial on how to use streaming video collections. Information on linking, clips, playlists, and accessibility.

Streaming Video Options

See tabs (above) for streaming video packages (and copyright information)

Open Access Videos

Think you might find a title somewhere on the Internet that would work in your class?  Drew University Library maintains an exemplary list of what they term "Open Access Video Sites." 

Physical Media Collection

To find media titles available from the Purdue Libraries physical collection, visit the Purdue Libraries home page at www.lib.purdue.edu.

Change the pull-down menu option on the left side of the main search box from "Search All" to "Books and Media," and then type a title or keywords and click the "Search" button. 

Examine results using options found on the extreme left side of the page, in the box beside search results.  Scroll down the sort functions to locate  "Video Format" to see if any of the results are media titles.  (If "Video Format" is not there, no physical media results such as DVDs were found.)

Streaming media titles will have a call number that says "online access available" as a clickable link.  (These are a subset of the titles available in the streaming media packages listed on the tabs above.)

Physical items such as DVDs will display a location and call number, but items must be requested during Covid-19 and cannot be physically retrieved from the collection.  The record will indicate that you should click "Check Request Options" and, if not logged in, the system will ask that you "Sign in to Check Availability" before you can request an item.

About

Kanopy offers over 50,000 films from all genres.

As of January 1st, 2020, Kanopy titles are for instructional purposes only. Previously licensed titles will be available for streaming until their licenses expire, at which point approval will be required* for renewals. New titles will be made available for courses or learning opportunities on an individual basis by instructor request.

*The Criterion, PBS, and Media Education Foundation collections will remain unmediated in their entirety (and thus available to all Purdue users without needing to request that they be made available for specific courses).

The Kanopy Help website may assist in answering technical questions or see below for FAQs.

FAQ

I’m an instructor who wants to show a Kanopy streaming video title in one of my classes. Will it be available after Purdue switches to “mediated” mode?  

Yes. We realize that one of the benefits of Kanopy is its accessibility. Unfortunately, the cost has become prohibitive, and as of January 1st 2020, Purdue University Libraries (West Lafayette campus) no longer provides unmediated access to the entire Kanopy catalog of 50,000+ videos. We are not eliminating any Kanopy videos, we are simply requiring that instructors request videos to be licensed prior to when they are needed for a course. Once a title has been licensed, access to it will remain open on the Kanopy website for twelve months from the date of activation. We will extend or re-license titles for class use when requested by instructors.

There are two ways to request Kanopy video licensing for class use: via the Kanopy website or directly via the kanopy@purdue.edu account. Detailed information about both methods is available on the Libguide.

 

If I request access to a video on Kanopy, will my students be able to view it on their own computers?

Yes. Purdue students can view licensed Kanopy videos through the Purdue West Lafayette Campus Kanopy site

You may also find it useful to embed licensed Kanopy videos into Brightspace so that students may watch videos directly from your course page. Instructions are posted later in this Libguide.

 

Does the Library have movies available for streaming?

Yes, with restrictions.  The largest platform, Kanopy, is restricted to educational use only. Instructors may request access to titles for their courses via the Kanopy platform or directly via the kanopy@purdue.edu account. 

Unfortunately, due to costs, we do not offer unlimited Kanopy viewing to students. If you are a student who needs access to a Kanopy title for a course, contact your instructor and ask him/her to send in a request on behalf of your class.

Requesting a Kanopy Title

All requests for Kanopy titles must be made a minimum of one week in advance. West Lafayette instructors are encouraged to check on the availability of titles for their courses before every semester, as some licenses may have expired in the interim.

 

Option 1: Request a title through the Kanopy platform

Recommended for instructors who need a single title or prefer to browse/navigate the platform.

  1. Go to Kanopy.
  2. Click on the title of interest.
  3. If the “Request Access” form pops up, you have selected a currently unlicensed title. Fill out the form and hit “submit.”
  4. A Libraries staff member will contact you by email via kanopy@purdue.edu with further instructions for approval.

 

Option 2: Request a title through email

Recommended for instructors who wish to request multiple titles for a course syllabus at one time. 

Send an email directly to kanopy@purdue.edu. In your message, please include the following:

  1. Name
  2. University Standing
  3. Kanopy Title(s) Requested
  4. Course Name and Number
  5. On-campus or Distance Learning
  6. Date Needed

 

Linking

Each video from Kanopy has an embed code. 

To link to videos in Kanopy:

  • Identify a video in the Kanopy database
  • Click on the "Share" option below the video player
  • A new gray box should open underneath the box containing the video player with the options "Share--Embed"
  • Click on "Embed" and copy/paste the code provided into your course content delivery system, webpage, syllabus etc.

Kanopy in Brightspace

Description

Creating A Kanopy Module

This step is optional, but by creating a module in Brightspace for Kanopy you provide students with an easy place to find their videos and any associated support documents.

  1. Login to Brightspace at https://purdue.brightspace.com and enter your course.
  2. From the bottom of the left sidebar, click on the module creator tool.
  3. Type Kanopy and press enter to create a new module. This will open the module when it’s created.

Adding A Kanopy video To Your Course Module

  1. Inside your new module, Click on “Upload/Create” (big blue button).
  2. Select "Video or Audio" from the drop down menu
  3. In the “Add Audio or Video” popup, Select the “Web Video or Audio” tab.
  4. Paste your embed code in the open dialog box.
  5. The “Title” box will automatically generate when you add the video embed link. If you would like to change the title, you can do so by manually editing the “Title” box
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the popup and Click on save.
  7. Your video is now embedded. If you would like to add dates or access restrictions you can do so on the bottom of this page.

Adding Kanopy to a Text Field

Brightspace allows faculty to create a text description at the top of every module. This can be a great place to lay out links, videos, or directions that you want students to follow each week or unit. You are able to embed Kanopy videos inside this box as well as an item in a module.

  1. From the top of your module, Click on “Add a Description.” This will open up an HTML editor at the top of the module.
  2. From the toolbar, Select “Insert Stuff” (it looks like the YouTube logo).
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the “Insert Stuff” popup and Select “Enter Embed Code.”
  4. Paste your embed code into the open text box.
  5. Click “Next” at the bottom of the popup window.
  6. Click “Insert” at the bottom of the next page to add the video to the HTML editor.
  7. Once you have added all your content to the HTML editor, Click “Update” to finalize those additions.
 

To embed in Brightspace:

  • Select Content
  • Click and hold on Build Content to select "Create" / "Item"
  • Enter your selected Name
  • Click on "HTML" in the Tool Icons displayed for the Text box.  The HTML code view dialog box will open.
  • Paste in the embed link copied earlier
  • Click "Update"
  • Click "Submit" on the Create Item page
  • The title of the video along with production details and running time will automatically be included above the video window in Brightspace

Create Shareable Playlists and Custom Clips

Instructions: Playlist and Clip Creation Tool

1. You can access the Playlist and Clip Creation Tool from any video by clicking the "PLAYLIST/CLIP" button under the video player

2. Complete the form with your name, e-mail address and playlist title.  Click on "Create" to start creating your playlist.

3. Review your information and click "Save & Select/Edit Clips".

4. Click on "Add a new clip"

5. Choose a video by either searching or browsing

6. Finalize the clip(s) selection and "Save and Publish"

7. Your playlist has now been created and two URLs have been created and e-mailed to you.  The first URL is your published playlist to be viewed or shared with others.  The second URL can be used to edit or delete your playlist at any time.

 

Accessiblity

  • If you need help using the keyboard accessible video player, please contact Kanopy to assist you
  • Closed Captioning and Transcripts are available on most videos (click on the "More" option under each video).  If a film is without captions and they are desired, there is a simple request option, located directly from the film page in question.

  • No player is required to view the videos.  For a PC you only require Flash, which most computers already have installed.  Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.

Other Options

We realize that demand for streaming titles has greatly increased due to Covid-19, but many titles are simply not available to Libraries in this format.  In these cases, one option might be to have students in your courses pay for individual access to necessary titles via Netflix or Amazon or other streaming vendors set up for individual consumers.  If you would  like to have your students watch specific streaming titles through direct payment to a service, you can find which services offer which streaming titles by using sites such as www.justwatch.com or telescope.com (for international films).

Another option is to have short video clips added to a Learning Management System such as Brightspace, as long as those clips conform with copyright laws.  The University Copyright Office website has relevant content regarding fair use in classrooms.  If you need help adding digital clips, contact ITaP (Information Technology at Purdue) Teaching and Learning Technologies--TLT@purdue.edu