Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources and Gateways
The following are a sample of online, publicly available resources that offer further research materials and information on Latino and Latin American Studies and related disciplines:
- LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
A professionally staffed effort located at the University of Texas where full time faculty and trained student assistants seek and evaluate web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Organized by country, theme and discipline and available in English, Spanish & Portuguese. Several special projects are included such as Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA), and the Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) which provides access to conference proceedings, unpublished reports, and similar "grey literature".
- HLAS - Handbook of Latin American Studies
Published since 1936 and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of selected works annotated by scholars in the social sciences and the humanities.
- CLACSO - Latin America and the Caribbean Social Science Virtual Libraries Network, of the Latin America Social Science Council
One of the most prestigious research organizations in Latin American. This database contains their research reports and various other documents.
- LAOAP - Latin American Open Archives Portal
A project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials.
- LAPTOC - Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents
A searchable online database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals published in Latin America, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Latindex is an index of online journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with links to individual journals.
- Pew Hispanic Center
A nonpartisan research organization whose mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.
- CL Net (Chicano/Latino Net)
Includes access to the leading Latino research library collections, online catalogs, electronic journals, research organizations, statistics and to a museum of Latin American art and artifacts. Also has a community center and employment center related to Latin American issues.
- CLASE - Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
This database has been prepared at the Universidad Nacional Aut
Libraries and Research Centers
A list of other academic libraries and research centers in North America that have Latino and/or Latin American Studies and related programs: