Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

HIST 460 American Colonial History: Databases

Provides access to scholarly resources on American colonial history for a course taught by Professor Cole Jones. This guide may also be used for HIST 495: Writing the Age of Revolution.

Databases

Purdue Libraries have many resources on U.S. Colonial History.  These materials include scholarly journal articles, databases, data sets, and government information resources.  This guide strives to provide users access to many of these resources.

Sample Library of Congress Subject searches you can use to find books in the Libraries online catalog on this time period include:

Massachusetts History
Massachusetts History 17th Century
Slavery History 18th Century

Stamp Act

United States History Revolution 1775-1783

Purdue Libraries Guide for DownloadingEbooks 

Use this Site to convert ebooks to Mobi format (Amazon Kindle)

Useful Databases and other resources include:

Alexandria (VA) Lyceum History Museum

America:  History & Life (Covers articles from U.S. &

Canadian History journals)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals (Over 6,500 periodicals on U.S. history from the American Antiquarian Society)
Historical Abstracts (Covers articles from history journals from the rest of the world)
British Newspapers 1600-1950
British Periodicals (Provides access to articles from hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th-early 20th centuries)

Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 (Provides access to Caribbean newspapers during this time period in English, French, and Spanish)
Early American Imprints Series 1 Evans-(Includes books, pamphlets,and periodicals published from 1639-1800)
Early American Newspapers Series 6 & 7 1741-1922 (Covers newspapers from 27 states & District of Columbia)
Early English Books Online (EEBO)-Features texts of most works published in the British Isles and British North America between 1473-1700).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)-Features texts of works published in British Isles and British North America between 1776-1800)

Eighteenth Century Journals V (Compilation of periodicals published between 1712-1835 reflecting multiple views of ongoing developments)
Electronic Enlightenment (Edited correspondence of prominent American, Asian, and Europeans (e.g. Benjamin Franklin) from the early 17th-mid 19th centuries)
EuroDocs France 1789-1871  (Brigham Young University Library Collection featuring documents on French history during this time period in English and French

Europeana Library (1700-1799)  Material from various European libraries covering from 1700-1799

France National Army Museum Collections

France National Maritime Museum

Historic Maps from University of Texas-Austin's Perry-Castaneda Library and other sources  from multiple global regions.
Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Covers from colonial times up to 2000 Census) HERE for Colonial Era statistics.  Use OANDA to convert from pounds to dollars.

Jamestown Settlement & American Revolution at Yorktown (VA)

Liberte, Egalite, and Fraternite:  Exploring the French Revolution  Produced by Rosenzweig Center for History & New Media at George Mason University & American Social History Project at City University of New York.

Measuring Worth 
(Convert colonial era British pound sterling prices to contemporary consumer and purchasing prices).. Use OANDA to convert from contemporary British pound sterling to U.S. dollars.)

Museum of the American Revolution (Philadelphia)

Online Portal National Museum of the Royal Navy-Portsmouth

Picture Library  British National Maritime Museum Greenwich

Sabin Americana 1500-1926 (Features works on the Americas between 1500-1926)

Slavery & Anti-Slavery:  A Transnational Archive (Covers this topic in the U.S., Caribbean, Latin America, & elsewhere)

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice(Compilation of primary and secondary documents from libraries and archives across the Atlantic World)

Virginia Gazette (Weekly Williamsburg, VA newspaper published between 1736-1780)

Subject Specialist