HIST 460: American Colonial History

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Searchable full text and page images from historical periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collection covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, art, business, industry, education, entertainment, science and medicine, religion, family life, literature, politics, and women’s studies.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth in high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers of interest to those studying Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more. A comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.

Includes documents in English, French and Spanish

Coverage: 1718-1876

Full-text archive of early American publications based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography: A Chronological Dictionary of all Books, Pamphlets, and Periodical Publications Printed in the United States of America from the Genesis of Printing in 1639 down to and including the Year 1800. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Fully searchable runs of newspapers from 1741-1922. Highlights of Series 6 include the Detroit Plaindealer; The Colored American, Detroit's first successful black newspaper; and the Arkansas Gazette, one of the first papers west of the Mississippi. Highlights of Series 7 include New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Digital reproductions of unique and rare eighteenth century periodicals chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1712 and 1835.

Edited letters of correspondents from Europe, the Americas, and Asia from the 17th to the mid-19th centuries, including the correspondence of philosophers, scientists, clerics, government ministers, merchants, and people of many other occupations. A research project of the Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford, EE provides a network of interconnected documents allowing scholars to see the complex web of personal relationships in the early modern period.
Limited to one user at a time.

Abstracts of selected journal articles, citations of books, book reviews and dissertations on the history of all parts of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.

Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present; Millennial Edition presents thousands of annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, and provide a guide to the sources. Enables searching, combining, and downloading of data using Excel or CSV spreadsheets.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. A cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere, included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Includes: Part 1. Debates over slavery and abolition, Part 2. Slave trade in the Atlantic world, Part 3. The institution of slavery , and Part 4. The age of emancipation.

Brings together Primary and secondary documents and collections covering an extensive time period from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Coverage 1490 - 2007

Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries.