Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

ENGL 106 / 108: Teaching Assistant Guide For Implementation of Archives and Special Collections into Freshman Composition

A guide for Teaching Assistants for implementing Purdue Archives and Special Collections into their freshman composition courses.

Introduction

This guide is designed to provide information for English 106 and 108 T.A.s who want to implement archives and special collections into their classroom. Assignments and hand-outs, useful contacts in both the Purdue University Archives and Special Collections and the English Department, along with helpful information on how to properly prepare yourselves and your students are all included in this guide. Collaboration between the T.A. and archivist as well as being well-versed in archival research at Purdue are two of the most important factors in successfully implementing archives and special collections into your classroom. This guide serves as a "how-to" that will take you step-by-step through the process of what you need to know in order to successfully and effectively implement archives and special collections into English 106 or 108.

This guide was originally created by Kristin Leaman; revised and maintained by Neal Harmeyer.

“Read the directions and directly you will be directed in the right direction.” From Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Wood engraving from Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Limited Editions Club, 1932. Illustrated by John Tenniel and engraved on wood by Bruno Rollitz. Purdue's copy is signed by the original Alice Hargreaves. From Purdue's Limited Editions Club Collection.

Acknowledgements

Images courtesy of the Aldous Huxley estate, Easton Press, Herbert Stone publishing, and Henry Altemus publishing.