Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

ENGL 106 / 108: Teaching Assistant Guide For Implementation of Archives and Special Collections into Freshman Composition: How to Prepare Yourselves

Navigating Archon and eArchives

It is extremely important for you to be proficient in our online collections resources before creating an assignment or choosing an assignment to give to your students. You will be in a much better position to help your students if you understand how difficult it can be to use these search engines. The best way to learn how to use Archives and Special Collections resources is through an instruction session with an archivist. 

You may set up an individual session or a group session with other T.A.s by emailing archives@purdue.edu or calling 765-494-2839. You may also go to the "Useful Contacts" tab on this LibGuide and contact a T.A. or a specific archivist for an instruction session. 

Learn more about the collections by visiting our full catalog of archival and manuscript collections at https://archives.lib.purdue.edu. View digitally-created or digitized materials at e-Archives, a compendium of documents, photos, and other materials and collections by visiting http://earchives.lib.purdue.edu.

 

Collaborate With an Archivist

Collaboration with an archivist is key to a successful experience, as they will be able to help guide you and your students through the archival research process. Discussing your assignment and goals with an archivist will not only benefit you, it will also benefit your students. The archivist will be able to gear the instruction session towards your assignment, better prepare the staff for when your students visit to conduct their research, and know how to help guide students with their assignment.

"Only the more rugged mortals should attempt to keep up with current literature." George Ade

 

Purdue University's copy of George Ade's Artie. This book was given to Mr. Charles H. Dennis, who was an editor at the Chicago Daily News. It is inscribed by George Ade and the illustrator, John T. McCutcheon, both of whom were Purdue graduates. From Purdue's George Ade Book Collection.

Visit the Reading Room

 

Lawrence E. and Janet M. Hiler Reading Room

In order to understand what your students will experience when conducting their research, it is paramount for you to visit the Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center, home of Archives and Special Collections. It would be best to find a collection online, come to the reading room and register, request to see the collection, and then look through the collection. Again, it is best to visit before you give your students an archives assignment.

You may fill out a registration form ahead of time and bring it with you to the Purdue Archives and Special Collections, or you may simply fill out the form at the front desk upon your arrival.

Registration Form:

Click this text to download our registration form.