Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives and Special Collections
The Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections Research Center
Located on the 4th floor in HSSE, Special Collections is open to the public.
Archives and Special Collections houses Purdue publications such as The Debris; academic schools' newsletters and reports; photographs; newspaper articles on the University's activities; and unique archival and manuscript materials.
Class Visits and Instruction
Learn how to use the archives and primary sources available in the collection; how to handle the materials; and what is available in Special Collections.
Video Tour of the Humanities, Social Science, and Educaiton Library (HSSE)
Purdue Libraries Site
At first glance, the Libraries homepage may be overwhelming, so this is what's most important.
- The search box: using the drop downs on the left you can search for books, movies and articles, both online and in print
- Library Guides: these are guides created by librarians to help you with assignments (like this one)
- Ask a Librarian chat service: type in your question and get real-time help from Purdue Libraries
Subject Libraries and Librarians
Which libraries at Purdue cover which subjects?
Each of the Purdue libraries is devoted to a specific subject area. You can find out more about what subject area a specific library covers by selecting it from the drop down menu on the Libraries home page. Each library has its own home page that will include information about its collections, services, research help, location and contact info.
For help locating a Purdue library, refer to the Libraries' map.
How to find a subject librarian?
For every course you will ever take at Purdue, there is a subject librarian you can consult on such things as choosing a topic and finding sources. To find a subject librarian, click on "Help" from the navigation menu the top of the page, then select "Librarians by Subject."