Research Guides: English 106/108: First-Year Composition: Finding Articles

Major Databases

The databases listed below are useful because they contain a variety of both scholarly and popular articles, such as newspaper and magazine articles.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Like Proquest, this database contains peer-reviewed journal articles as well as popular and newspaper articles covering all subjects.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from multiple science fields.
Education Full Text
Scholarly articles in education.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles from over 700 journals. Especially excellent for history, literature, and other areas in humanities.
Proquest Research Library
This database has a large number of peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as magazine and newspaper articles, in all subject areas.
Science Citation Index Expanded
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains or links to scholarly articles in all areas of science.

Newspaper Articles

The databases below include newspaper articles and news sources. You can also limit by newspaper articles in general databases such as ProQuest Research Library and Academic Search Premier.

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
PressReader
Current editions of over 450 newspapers from around the world.

Using Primo Search for Articles

Start from the search bar on the Libraries' homepage. Select "Articles" from the drop down, type in keywords, and click "Search". This gives you comprehensive search results across all databases and subject fields.

To narrow down search results, refer to the left column on the result page, and refine your search by choosing the material type, publication date, subject, etc.

Search Google Scholar

Try a search in Google Scholar as a starting point. If you're off-campus, click here for info on setting your Google Scholar preferences to link to the Purdue Libraries online collections.