Année Philologique: International index of scholarship in classical studies covering journal articles and book chapters on ancient Greek and Roman worlds. Records can be searched by ancient author, modern author, title words, subjects and disciplines, including archaeology, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, science and technology. Records often contain a brief abstract and links to related records. Earlier printed volumes (1924 to 2001), which include a key to abbreviations, are available in HSSE (Periodicals) 016.4 An74.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG): Searchable collection of all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Includes indexing from the Canon of Greek Authors and Works. (In Greek)
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL): A dictionary of ancient Latin providing all instances of a given word in Latin literature from the earliest times to 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München). The HSSE Library also holds a printed version, call no. 473 T343.
Academic Search Premier: articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers published 1984 to present; full text, 1990 - present. This and ProQuest Research Library are the two huge, aggregate databases that serve as defaults if materials are not found elsewhere.
Biography Resource Center: worldwide coverage of past and present noteworthy people. Narrative biographies, key facts, selected full-text articles, and more.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index: a master index to biographical reference works, each containing multiple biographies.
Humanities Abstracts: ancient history, arts, communication, history, linguistics, literature, religion, and culture in the Greco-Roman world, Egypt, Mesopotamia, etc.---published 1984 to present.
JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive: Full-text digital archive of over 450 scholarly journals published from the 1800s onward. The full-text journals it makes available are a good but only a narrow selection within the mainstream of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to its very narrow range, it does not provide the most recent issues. Therefore, researchers who only use JSTOR should not imagine that they have done a thorough job of research. It should be used but also supplemented with more thorough coverage. J-STOR's strength is in back issues; holdings generally begin at the journal's inception but stop a few years short of the present.
Periodicals Archive Online: (indexed by its much more comprehensive sister database, Periodicals Index Online): currently contains the full-text backfiles of over 350 journals, including many in foreign languages ;published 1665 to recently. It also indexes and links to articles in JSTOR.
Project Muse, Premium Collection: published 1990 through current issues, provides full-text, online editions of over 340 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. For some journal titles Project Muse provides links to the previously acquired JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library: articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, including many in full text, published 1986 to present. This and Academic Search Premier are the two huge, aggregate databases that serve as defaults if materials are not found elsewhere.