Research Guides: Chemistry: Home

Research Help for Chemistry

Key Chemical Information Resources

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Reaxys (Beilstein/Gmelin)
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. Combines the Beilstein (organic chem), Gmelin (organometallic and inorganic chem), and Chemical Patents databases into one search interface.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Drawn from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources, this comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Knovel
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
CHEMnetBASE
nIncludes access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics as well as a number of other resources with physical and chemical property data, including properties for natural products and drugs.
Merck Index
Human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and natural products, agricultural chemicals, industrial and laboratory chemicals, environmentally significant compounds.
CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Serials Source Index) This link opens in a new window
CASSI is the most complete information source on scientific journals in chemistry. It lists standard abbreviations, frequency of publication, journal name changes, and other bibliographic information for over 60,000 named sources.

Other Chemical Information Sources
The databases listed here represent only a fraction of Purdue University Libraries' holdings. For more information, see the Chemical Information Sources guide.