Databases, handbooks, and book series related to organic synthesis, including searching for information on specific reactions or more general information about functional groups, protecting groups, and name reactions.
Benefits to these Databases
- Can search by structure
- Can find info on specific reactions (searching by reactants and/or products)
- Often links you to the full-text
- Annual Reports in Organic Synthesis [PRINT ONLY]
Annual reviews of the literature. Sections are organized by reaction type, protecting groups, and reviews related to techniques, natural products, fullerene chemistry, and other selected topical areas.
- Catalysts and Catalyzed Reactions (2002- )
Visual presentation of new developments in catalysis research. Around 200 graphical abstracts added every month, indexed by reaction and catalytic method.
- Compendium of Organic Synthetic Methods (2006- )
Annual reviews of the literature. Sections are organized by reaction type and subtype. A convenient graph is found at the beginning of each volume to track down general sections.
- Methods in Organic Synthesis ( 2000- )
Graphical abstracts of important current developments and new synthetic advances, including reaction schemes. Entries are indexed by Reaction, Reactant and Reagent.
- Natural Product Updates (2000- )
Alerting natural product scientists to the latest developments. The abstracts include structure diagrams, trivial and taxonomic names, and physical and biological properties.
- Synfacts (2005- )
In SYNFACTS current research results in synthetic organic chemistry, as they appear in the primary literature, are screened, selected, evaluated, summarized, and enriched with personal comments by experts in their fields. You can view an overview here
- Theilheimer's Synthetic Methods of Organic Chemistry
Online from vol 78 (2008). Chemistry Library Ref. 547 T34sE for vol 3 (1949)-vol 75 (2010). Semiannual reviews of the literature. Sections are organized using a unique system indicating what bonds are made and broken along with the type of reaction. Also includes a section on review articles.