Research Guides: POL 491A: NIMBYism at Home and Abroad: U.S. Government Resources

U.S. Government Resources

Numerous U.S. Government resources are available for discussing and researching NIMBY topics. These include:

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Contains the text of regulations agencies use to enforce federal laws. Updated annually and broken into 50 different title/subject areas.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Energy Department statistical branch documenting energy sector economic activity.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The Environmental Protection Agency is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters.
Explore U.S. Census Data
Provides economic, demographic, and social statistics on areas nationwide including communities, zip codes, and census tracts. See American Community Survey section of this website for post-2010 Census data.
Federal Register (National Archives)
Published Monday-Friday (except federal holidays), this resource contains the text of federal regulations, proposed federal regulations, presidential document such as executive orders, and announcements of agency meetings from 1994-present.
FEMA Flood Map Service Center
Provides access to maps supporting the National Flood Insurance Program and contains information on flood hazards.
Local Climatological Data (LCD)
Provides current and historic U.S. weather condition data throughout the country.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Agency responsible for regulating the civilian nuclear power industry.
Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Transportation Dept. agency responsible for ensuring the safe and secure movement of hazardous materials to industry and consumer by all transporation nodes including pipelines.
Regulations.gov
Comment on proposed federal agency regulations under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).
Toxic Release Inventory (TRI)
This Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) documents hazardous waste emissions in the U.S.
U.S. Geological Survey
Interior Department agency responsible for analyzing, exploring, and quantifying U.S. and international mineral resources.
Yucca Mountain Standards (EPA)

Congressional Sources

The U.S. Congress is responsible for approving new laws, revising existing laws, funding government programs, and conducting oversight of these programs management performance. This is done by various congressional committees and congressional support agencies. Examples include:

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely information, analyses, and estimates related to federal economic and budgetary decisions.
Congressional Record
Contains text of congressional debate, bills, and recorded votes on legislation. Issues cost estimates for legislation reported by congressional committees.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Library of Congress' Congressional Research Service (CRS) presents unbiased reports on various public policy issues for members of Congress, their staff, and the American public.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
This agency evaluates the management performance of government programs for Congress.
House Energy & Commerce Committee
The Committee in Energy & Commerce legislates issues including health care, environmental protection, consumer protection and product safety, nuclear facilities, and more.
State Environment & Public Works Committee