Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Veterinary Nursing Resources: Dictionaries (Online & Print)

A guide for veterinary nursing students at Purdue University

Dictionaries online and in the Veterinary Library

 

Dictionaries in the Veterinary Medical Library:
 

Veterinary medical dictionaries -

Black's veterinary dictionary, 20th ed. / edited by Edward Boden. Lanham, MD : Barnes & Noble Books, 2001.  636.08903 M619v 2001 (Reference)

Delmar's veterinary technician dictionary / Ray V. Herren, Janet Amundson Romich. Albany, NY : Delmar Thomson Learning, 2000. (Reference collection) 636.08903 H433d 2000

Dictionary of veterinary epidemiology / editors, Bernard Toma, et al. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1999. (Reserves collection) 636.08944 G516E 1999

Dictionary of veterinary nursing / D.R. Lane, S. Guthrie. Edinburgh: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2008. 636.089073 L24d 2008 (Reference)

Saunders comprehensive veterinary dictionary, 3rd ed. / Studdert, V. P., Gay, C. C. & Blood D. C. Edinburgh: Saunders Elsevier, 2012.  SF609 .B566 2012 (Reference)

Medical dictionaries -

Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2006. 610.4 St3p 2006 (Reference).

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary, 31st ed. Philadelphia : Saunders Elsevier, 2007. 610.3 D73a 2007 (Reference)

Concise colour medical dictionary, 3rd ed. / Elizabeth Martin, ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. (Reference collection) 610.3 C748 2002

Melloni's illustrated medical dictionary, 4th ed. / Ida G. Dox. Boca Raton : Parthenon, 2002. 610.321 D769m 2002 (Reference)

Mosby's medical dictionary, 6th ed. St. Louis : Mosby, 2002. 610.3 M85 2002 (Reference)

Medical dictionary : English, Spanish, Portuguese / I. Nolte-Schlegel, J.J. González Soler. Berlin ; New York : Springer, 2001. (Reference collection) 610.3 N725m 2001

Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary, ed. 19 / Donald Venes & Clayton L. Thomas, coeditors. Philadelphia : F.A.Davis Co., 2001. (Reference collection) 610.3 T11c 2001.

Dictionary of medical syndromes, 4th ed. / Sergio I. Magalini, Sabina C. Magalini. Philadelphia : Lippincott-Raven, 1997. (Reference collection) 616.047 M27d 1997

Dictionary of medical eponyms, 2nd ed. / B.G. Firkin and J.A. Whitworth. New York : Parthenon Pub. Group, 1996. (Reference collection) 610.3 F515d 1996

Dictionary of medical acronyms and abbreviations, 5th ed. / compiled and edited by Stanley Jablonski. Philadelphia : Elsevier Saunders, 2005. 610.148 J114d 2005 (Reference)