Research Guides: NUR 22301: Foundations of Research and Evidence-Based Practice: Find Articles

Search Articles

Search articles in Purdue Libraries databases:

Select "Articles" from the drop down menu.
In the search box, enter the article title.
Click "Search".

EBSCOhost Databases Relevant to Nursing

You may search several databases simultaneously when you are in EBSCOhost. Click the "Choose Databases". Place mouse over the icon next to the name of the database to view information about the dataase. Select the databases you want to search and click “OK”.

CINAHL This database provides authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO interface) This database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to organize citations.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database includes journal articles from many medical disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This database includes journal articles from multi-disciplines for more than 4,600 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This database covers literature in psychology and related disciplines.
ERIC (EBSCO interface) This database provides information related to education, including healthcare education.
- This link opens in a new window

PubMed database

Connect PubMed database through Purdue Libraries: go to http://lib.purdue.edu. Mouse over “FIND” and choose “Databases”. At “Search by Database Title”, enter “pubmed” and click “Search”. Choose "PubMed".

PubMed
This database is free and powerful and includes many databases (e.g. MEDLINE) and millions of articles related to healthcare. It is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Databases re: article's or journal's impact

Science Citation Index Expanded Use this database to Web of Science is useful for the descendancy approach of literature review (use a published article to locate other articles cited this article). Use this to assess the impact of a published journal article, which is indicated by the number that this article has been cited by other articles since it's publication (Note: recent published articles may have few number of citations).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports: Science Edition Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to look up impact factors and other evaluative information about a journal that is available in JCR database.

Database re: Journal Information

Ulrichsweb.com
Use this database to search information about a journal (e.g. peer-reviewed, academic/scholarly journal, etc.).

Verifying if a journal is peer-reviewed
See this tutorial (1:27) to learn how to use Ulrichs to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed.

NUR 22301: Foundations of Research and Evidence-Based Practice

Search Google Scholar

Short Tutorials

Search Articles

EBSCOhost Databases Relevant to Nursing

PubMed database

Databases re: article's or journal's impact

Database re: Journal Information