Purdue Libraries provide access to many databases featuring scholarly journal articles on multiple topics relevant to this class. Examples include:
America: History and Life (Indexes articles from U.S. and Canadian history journals.)
Associations Unlimited (Directory of U.S. and international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) seeking to influence public policy in various fields.
Data.gov (Portal to U.S Government datasets)
Data Planet Statistical Datasets (Provides data and analytics from a variety of sources)
EconLit-(Indexes articles from economic journals)
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)-Current and recent U.S. economic information from the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank.
FRASER-Historical U.S. economic information from the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank
Google Scholar-(Provides access to a variety of different scholarly resources)
GreenR-(Provides access to various contemporary resources on environmental policy)
Historical Abstracts (Indexes articles from 1450-present for countries and regions outside the U.S. and Canada.)
Human Progress: Datasets compiled by the Cato Institute which is a libertarian think-tank.
Ipoll Databank: Public opinion polling data from 1935-present
LexisNexis Academic (Indexes U.S. and international newspaper articles, U.S. federal and state court opinions, and selected foreign government court opinions)
Press Reader (Provides access to U.S. and international newspapers for the past 60 days)
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International (Indexes political science journal articles, research center publications, and selected U.S. Government documents)
SIPRI Arms Expenditure Database (This Stockholm International Peace Research Institute dataset features military expenditure information.)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Indexes political science journal articles)
U.S. National Debt Ceiling Visual Analytic as of Sept. 2016 ($19.5 trillion Courtesy: Zerohedge.com)