Research Guides: HIST 361: Violence, War &amp; Militarism in Modern Africa: U.S. Government and Military

U.S. Government and Military

U.S. Government Resources

The U.S. Government produces many information resources documenting its relationships with and policies toward African countries. Examples include:

U.S. Bilateral Fact Sheets
Fact sheets from the U.S. Department of State that provide succinct background summaries.
Bureau of African Affairs
U.S. Department of State Bureau of African Affairs is focused on the development and management of U.S. policy concerning the African continent.
House Foreign Affairs Committee
The United States House Committee on Foreign Affairs, also known as the House Foreign Affairs Committee, is a standing committee of the U.S. House of Representatives with jurisdiction over bills and investigations concerning the foreign affairs of the United States.
U.S. Department of State Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons
The TIP Office leads the Department’s global efforts to combat human trafficking through the prosecution of traffickers, the protection of victims, and the prevention of human trafficking.
Senate Foreign Relations Committee
Conducts oversight of U.S. State Department, various foreign policy programs, and U.S. foreign policy. Plays a key role in approving or rejecting U.S. treaties with foreign countries & international government organizations.
State Department Office of the Historian
Documents on U.S. foreign policy history.
U.S. Agency for International Development
Agency responsible for administering U.S. foreign economic and social assistance programs.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Database allows users to to locate the full text of documents and filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
The CIA collects and analyzes foreign intelligence and conducts covert action. U.S. policymakers, including the President of the United States, make policy decisions informed by the information provided by this organization.
Central Intelligence Agency World Factbook
Annual compendium of quick reference information on world countries.
Central Intelligence Agency Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
Features access to declassified National Intelligence Estimates on various countries and regions. Select "Historical Collections" then "National Intelligence Council (NIC) Collection" or other collections once you connect to this site.
CIA Center for the Study of Intelligence
Producer and repository of unclassified intelligence articles, publications, and scholarship.

U.S. Military Resources

United States Africa Command
Military component responsible for coordinating U.S. security interests in Africa.
Defense Security Cooperation Agency
Agency responsible for administering and implementing Defense Department technology security policies on international transfers of defense-related goods, services, and technologies and ensuring that U.S. defense technology interests are preserved without damage to U.S. security interests.
U.S. Army Foreign Military Studies Office
Documents and analyzes foreign military developments for Africa and other global regions.
Strategic Studies Institute (U.S. Army War College)
Analyzes military landpower subjects for Africa and other global regions.
United States Forces, Somalia After Action Report
Covers U.S. military actions between 1992-1994.
Joint Special Operations University Publications
Emphasizes special forces aspects of military operations.
Africa Center for Strategic Studies
National Defense University research center focusing on Africa.
Institute for National Strategic Studies
National Defense University center studying international affairs & national security.
Energy Information Administration Country Information
Provides information about foreign country energy resources and policies.
Minerals Yearbooks (Africa & Middle East)
Provides information about foreign country mineral resources and policies.
Global Agricultural Information Network
U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agriculture Service reporting on country agricultural conditions & developments.

HIST 361: Violence, War & Militarism in Modern Africa

Subject Specialist

U.S. Government and Military

U.S. Government Resources

U.S. Military Resources