Research Guides: EAPS 360: Great Issues in Science and Society: Important Databases

A few databases to get you started

Looking for journal articles? Here is a brief list of databases subscribed to by the Purdue Libraries. Most of them contain at least partial full-text.

Look for the icon or full text link to full-text in another database.

Science-oriented databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of scientific disciplines, is easy to search, and links to lots of full text.
ClimateWire
"...designed to bring readers unmatched coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society."
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers earth science, geology, and the geosciences.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Includes weather, climate, and the environment.

Policy/Society Databases

PAIS International
Covers political, social, and policy issues of all sorts.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociological issues, including activism & action research, community organization, the media, political science. Good place to look for information about attitudes and behaviors.

Economic/Business Databases

Frost and Sullivan
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews of industries, trends, and market reports.
Plunkett Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a 'Build Your Report' option to mix and match information.

Industries Research Guide
Research guide developed by business librarians at the Parrish Library of Management and Economics on Industries.
Marketing Research Guide
Research guide developed by business librarians at the Parrish Library of Management and Economics on Marketing.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an enhanced version of Google that targets scholarly literature. Google Scholar interfaces with Purdue Libraries databases to reflect which articles we have full-text access to. Google Scholar can help fine tune your internet searches.

Be advised that Google Scholar has been known to contain incorrect or incomplete information. If you are trying to conduct a comprehensive literature search, Google Scholar is a great place to start, but it should not be the only resource you use.

Other sites of interest

Gapminder
Displays time series of development statistics for all countries
Nation Master
Create charts comparing national statistics. Data is compiled from the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.