HIST 495: Trials in History

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

A collection of periodicals from the colonial period through to the twentieth century focused on American concerns and predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of citizens from all walks of life.

Over 1,240 American magazines and journals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including general magazines, literary and professional journals, and other historically-significant periodicals. For periodicals that continued into the 20th c., the cut-off date is 1940.

Fully searchable runs of 215 newspapers from 27 states and the District of Columbia from 1741-1922. Highlights of Series 6 include the Detroit Plaindealer; The Colored American, Detroit's first successful black newspaper; and the Arkansas Gazette, one of the first papers west of the Mississippi. Highlights of Series 7 include New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily.

18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers of interest to those studying Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more. A comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.

Includes documents in English, French and Spanish

Coverage: 1718-1876