POL 429: Race and Politics

Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) is the Ranking Member of the Senate Banking, Housing, & Urban Affairs Committee. Rep. John James (R-MI) chairs the House Foreign Affairs Committee's Africa Subcommittee, Rep. David Scott (D-GA) is ranking member of the House Agriculture Committee and chaired this committee during the 117th Congress (2021-2022), Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA) is ranking member of the House Education and Workforce Committee and chaired this committee during the 117th Congress, Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA) is ranking member of the House Financial Services Committee and chaired this committee during the 117th Congress, Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY) is ranking member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee and chaired this committee during the 117th Congress, Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS) is ranking member of the House Homeland Security Committee and chaired this committee during the 117th Congress; and retired Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) chaired the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee during the 117th Congress. This does not include African-American members who chair or are ranking members of congressional subcommittees during the 118th congress. For instance, Indiana Rep. Andre Carson is the ranking member of the House Intelligence Committee's Subcommittee on the Central Intelligence Agency.

Census Bureau report on minority, women, and veteran owned businesses.

History covering from 1870-present by the House of Representatives History, Art, & Archives Department. Links to studies on Hispanic Americans, Asian & Pacific Islanders, & Women in Congress.

U.S. Justice Department entity producing criminal justice statistics.

U.S. Government Publishing Office resource of recent and historic government publications.

National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA) resource conducted every five years for years ending in 2 and 7. Contains information on minority group ownership of agricultural lands.

Contains full text online archive of commission publications from 1957-present.

Indexes U.S. Congressional Committee hearings.

House Appropriations Committee Kay Granger (R-TX)
House Education and Workforce Committee Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
House Energy & Commerce Committee Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
Senate Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry Committee Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Senate Appropriations Committee Patty Murray (D-WA)
Senate Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Senate Rules & Administration Committee Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Directories of selected congresses including all from 1993-present. Includes congressional districts by zip code.

Selected years 1968 and beyond.

Contains text of congressional debate, bills, and recorded votes on legislation. Issues cost estimates for legislation reported by congressional committees.

The Library of Congress' Congressional Research Service (CRS) presents unbiased reports on various public policy issues for members of Congress, their staff, and the American public.

Search recent Census Bureau data by multiple factors including zip codes.

Provides one-stop access to U.S. Government legal, legislative, and regulatory information resources from 1994/95-present.

Lists state seats in the U.S. House of Representatives for these dates.

Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-IN) is a member of this committee.

April 8, 2022 letter from three members of the House Oversight & Reform Committee.

This Commerce Dept. agency seeks to enhance the global growth and competiveness of minority business enterprises.

Homeland Security Department entity collecting and evaluating immigration statistics.

Seeks to improve the quality and usefulness of federal race and ethnicity data. (2023)

Congressional committees are responsible for approving and revising legislation, overseeing federal program management performance, and funding federal programs.

SBA the only cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses

Compiles demographic and socioeconomic statistics on the U.S. population including ethnic groups.

Independent agency investigating citizen complaints of discriminatory practices or denials of equal protection.

Federal agency responsible for enforcing federal statutes prohibiting racial, sexual, religious, disability, or national orientation discrimination.

Independent judicial branch agency responsible for setting sentencing policies for individuals committing federal crimes and conducting research on federal crime & sentencing issues.

Scroll down to reach this resource and select "Websites by State." Will cover redistricting from 2020 Census.

Contains the full text of Supreme Court opinions late 1991-present, some oral argument transcripts, and other information.

Annual directory of federal agencies and their key officials.

U.S. House of Representatives webpage on Women in Congress.

Advocates for working women.