Research Guides: POL 429: Race and Politics: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Purdue Libraries have several databases you can use to find scholarly journal articles on class topics. These include:

America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Gale Directory Library
Directory of U.S. and international organizations seeking to influence public policy in multiple areas.
JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
NexisUni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
PAIS International
Bibliographic index with abstracts covering issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Coverage 1972-present.
Policy Commons
Collection of research from policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. Thesaurus of over 3,000 terms used to index records also available.